Two steps forward, one step back

We can’t all be perfect all the time.  All we can do is try…

Go to store at lunch to get the water for the team dinner…check.  Go to the team dinner…check.  Do anything else on my list for today…not so much 😦

Of course I didn’t get up early enough to get on the elliptical this morning.  And I can’t blame sore legs.  Yes, I can feel a slight soreness.  But more of a good sore…an “I’m accomplishing something” sore…not a “I can’t walk let alone get on the elliptical” sore.  Now to why I didn’t do it after work.

My son Josh is awesome.  I couldn’t ask for a better kid.  Here is a picture of Josh with his smart-ass grin.  Hard to capture that (or any) grin on film, usually he stiffens up when he sees a camera and ends up looking like he belongs on the FBI top 10 wanted terrorist list.

He doesn’t stay out late, he doesn’t drink or smoke or do drugs, he is very helpful around the house.  But the boy wouldn’t remember his head if it wasn’t attached.  My mom used to say that about me when I was a teenager and I just didn’t get it, she needed to chill out.  Oh boy, I get it now!  On his swimming schedule the team dinner was set for 5:45.  It showed he had practice from 3:00 to 5:30.  Usually team dinners are at 7:30, but usually practice is from 5:00 to 7:30 so I didn’t question this.  I get off work at 4:30, and although I only live 10 minutes from work I figured it wouldn’t be worth going home before the dinner.  I like to be early.  (Hmmm, that’s an odd statement from a self-proclaimed procrastinator, but it’s true.)  By the time I log off my computer, get to my car, yadda yadda yadda I would get home a little before 5:00.  Just enough time to change into some comfy jeans and have ten minutes before I had to get back in the car and go to the school.  So I took my clothes to work, changed in the bathroom, read in my car for a little while, arrived at the school at 5:25.  I went in, thinking it strange I was the only parent there.  The cafeteria was still locked, also strange.  So, not wanting to interrupt practice, I sat in the hall outside the pool playing Sudoku on my phone.  I can hear the coach yelling out instructions, I can hear splashing and other swim type noises, I can hear that it doesn’t seem to be wrapping up.  I wait.  I wait some more.  I continue to wait.  Still no other parents, still no team managers coming out to unlock the cafeteria, still not sounds of practice coming to a close.  Finally, at around 5:45 I go in.  I find a manager and ask her what time the dinner is scheduled.  I am told 6:30.  Yep, 6:30.  Coach had given them a note at yesterday’s practice to let us know.  A note I never saw of course.  By now it is, again, not worth going home and coming back.  These type of things happen to me a lot when it comes to Josh.  When practice finally ended and I was able to talk to him he said he thought it said 6:30 on the schedule so didn’t think he had to tell me.  **sigh**  To be fair, two other parents were walking in as I walked out of the pool area.  There are three captains for the team…Josh, Joey and Austin.  Well, it was Joey’s mom and Austin’s dad.  Aren’t they supposed to be the responsible ones?  I told Josh he owes me an hour of my life back.  What else could I do?

So I didn’t get home until close to 8 o’clock.  Do you think I feel like cleaning out a drawer in the bathroom or getting on the elliptical?  No, I do not.  No matter how much I’m trying to turn over a new leaf, I just cannot convince myself that it needs to be done.

Oh, as for the “call the dentist” thing.  I forgot.  I’ll own up to that.  I didn’t check my list on my phone so I forgot.  Now it needs to be pushed to tomorrow and I’ll absolutely have to get up early to get on the elliptical. 

Busy day tomorrow, but it can (and will) be done!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

