I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…

Well, time to own up to what I have and haven’t accomplished this week so far.  I realize this is a work in progress and I have to be patient with myself, so I’m trying not to be too disappointed.

First I’ll go over the things I have completed.  There’s even one I somehow remembered that wasn’t on my list.

I did go to the bank at lunch on Thursday.  I had waited until Thursday thinking the after holiday rush would be over and most people don’t get paid until Friday, so I should have plenty of time.  Unfortunately, everyone else in the city had the same idea!  I did have complete the task and get back to work in the alloted half hour, but with no time to spare to call the dentist.  One of my coworkers called in sick so there was no spare time to sneak away to do it while on the clock.  But YAY!  I went to the bank ;P

Of course, we went almost directly to the swim meet after work so I didn’t have time for much else.  But, lo and behold, I remembered just before leaving the house that Griffin had a library book that was due that day!  I jumped on the computer and renewed online, no late fees 🙂  And in case you’re interested, we didn’t win the meet but it was very close.  And Josh got his 2nd best time ever in both the 200 IM and 100 FlyMy nephew Nathan (who is a Junior at the same school) made county time for his 100 FreestyleSo I can’t really complain, although it would have been great to win.

I finally got around to calling the dentist on Friday at lunch…they were closed.  Turns out they were closed on Wednesday and Thursday during my lunch break also, so even if I would have tried calling I wouldn’t have gotten through.  So after a long day at work I had plans to go directly to the grocery store after picking my husband up from home and telling him he had to go with me.  When I got home my mother-in-law had dinner almost done so that was delayed.  I was soooo tired Friday I thought if I sat down, even to eat dinner, I wouldn’t get back up.  But I did.  Off to the grocery store we went.  Luckily, it wasn’t as crowded as I’d anticipated and we were able to get what I needed quickly.

I also told Herb I’d be going to the local bar for a friend’s birthday.  He wasn’t too happy about that one.  He usually is on his computer playing his on-line game, turns out he had “taken the night off” to spend time with me.  Well, I had made the plans the night before while he was on-line and hadn’t had a chance to tell him.  He didn’t tell me he wouldn’t be on so I didn’t even think he’d miss me.  But I promised I’d go and I hadn’t seen Stephanie since some time in the summer, so I was going.  I had about an hour (that should have been spent taking care of that bathroom drawer) so I snuggled on Herb’s recliner with him and we watched a rerun of Wipe Out.

Pop was on the menu for me at the bar.  I’m not a drinker in most cases anyway, so even a few sips of anything with alcohol would have probably sent me into dreamland.  I spent a couple of hours catching up with my friends and back home for me.  Got some reading in before bed, too!

Today has been a flurry of activity.  Read some more while having my morning coffee.  Josh was off to swimming and everyone else in bed, so it was nice and peaceful.  Then a quick shower and off to work to pick up some table to use for book club tomorrow.  Home again and called the dentist (finally) and got the insurance taken care of.  Then off to Josh’s swim meet.  It was a relay meet, which is always fun.  He brought home to gold medals and two silver medals 🙂  We went shopping for a dishwasher after the meet.  I thought that would take all afternoon, but we lucked out and found a floor model for $200 less than the original price.  I hate shopping, but love a bargain!  I was planning on baking goodies for book club when we got home, but Herb decided he was going to install the dishwasher.  We have a tiny kitchen so I had to stay out while he did that.  I must say, it’s great to have a dishwasher again.  It made my baking much more enjoyable.  When he was done installing, I got in there and made some pumpkin bread and brownies.  Mmmmm….can’t wait until dessert tomorrow!

So, although I didn’t get any more exercising in, and I didn’t clean out that drawer for my MIL, I still had quite the productive week.  I WILL do better next week!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

