Good intentions

My wonderful trick of making such great sounding excuses has worked well for me these past few months.  I have actually been having the urge to use the Wii to sneak some physical activity into my life.  Of course, I told myself that couldn’t be done since my mother-in-law was with us and I really didn’t feel like doing such things in middle of the living room with her sitting by on the couch watching me.   I know, I know, the Wii is meant to be “family entertainment”…used in a group.  I have done that.  I will do that again.  I have fun playing bowling, tennis, etc. with my friends and family.  But when I want to do the individual “games” or the Wii Fit I do not need or want an audience.

Excuse time was over!  My mother-in-law went back home 2 weeks ago.  That very weekend we took her home we had my oldest son’s college visit (sob!).  The weekend after we had my husband’s grandfather’s funeral.  Both of these weekends ended up being out-of-town weekends.

Lo and behold, we have a weekend that we don’t have to be out-of-town somewhere!  My hubby’s at work, pulling some overtime.  The boys have started their weekend chores.  I have the laundry going and cannot get into the bathroom for a shower since Josh is in there cleaning.  Hmmmm…sounds like the perfect time for some Wii Fit!

Turn on the Wii, go hunting for the Wii Fit balance board, be thankful the wands have been sitting in the charging port so the batteries should be fine…WRONG!  Ugh!  Good intentions, I tell ya!  The hand wands have been sitting in the charging port so long they had charged and kind of sat there, tricking the charger into thinking all was well.  Green light, yay!  But I got nothing when I was trying to use them.  My tech savvy son Josh came over to take a look after I yelled, “But they had a green light!”  He gently pried the wand out of my frustrated hand and put it back in its cradle.  Blue light.  Blue light?  Yep, blue light.  Charging.

So  now my intention is to have some family (or individual) fun tonight once they are charged and still sneak that activity into my weekend.  But if I’m being honest what will most likely happen is I forget about the Wii until another month or more has passed and I’ll repeat the above steps.

{SIGH}

Have a happy and safe weekend!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

