Little Sister aka Pastry Chef

You know those nights when you can’t sleep and you look at the clock and start the countdown?  I can still get 5 hours in, I can still get 4 hours in, should I just get up and cut my losses since I’ll only get 3 hours of sleep?  If you don’t know, I am so envious of you.  If you do know, you have some idea of how out of it I’ve been today, running on less than 3 hours of sleep. 

No particular reason.  As I stated in my previous post, I can breath again.  No more stress of planning the grad party and all the volunteer work of the All Night Party.  Or maybe that’s it…I was so busy the past month that by the time my head hit the pillow I was too tired to think.  Too tired for my brain to start running crazy on all the “to-dos” and “should haves”.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a girl who falls asleep quickly.  Minimum 20 minutes to fall asleep, average 90 minutes, bad nights – HOURS!  But I’ve been able to do the 20 minute trip during my busy month.  Apparently that is now over.

So I’m relaxing and catching up on some of the episodes of “Revenge” I have on my DVR (7 left!) while going through some more pictures from the graduation festivities.  Which reminded me of this:

my little sister putting the finishing touches on Josh’s graduation cake

I love that my counter is not the right height but she figures it out!  My beautiful little sister, Katie, is a pastry chef.  She lives in the San Francisco area which is approximately 3000 miles away from me.  The funny thing is, when she was still in high school (and middle school for that matter) I lived in San Diego while she was here in Michigan.  I guess we’re destined to live far apart 😦

Anyway, Josh was very boastful of the fact that he is the only one in his class to have a pastry chef fly in from California to make his graduation cake!  With a little help from my nephew, Nathan.  He did the artwork for the husky and the swimmer.  It’s his turn next year!

Josh’s beautiful cake, I hated to cut into it!

 It was delicious, too!  I can’t wait until she makes Nathan’s cake next year so I can have another piece!

I think I’ll hit the hay early tonight, let’s hope that works out for me.

Blog question:
If you suffer from insomnia, do you have any tricks or tips for those days that your mind just won’t turn off?
About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

