The Pit

Am I the only one who has a room that all the junk gets thrown into?  In other words, a junk drawer that is a whole room.  And to all of you who have a junk room, am I the only one that actually lives in this room?  These are things I ponder.

It never fails (big surprise coming from a procrastinator) that I put off cleaning up when I know people are coming over.  What ends up happening is this:

  • The weekend before said event I start going through things, getting rid of the garbage (ie. expired coupons, old circulars, letters home from the school that are no longer pertinent) and feeling like I made a dent.  I then tell myself that I have plenty of time to go through the other, more time-consuming stuff.  Things like books that I no longer have room for on my bookshelf so they are stacking up on the floor, end table, etc.  School pictures of nieces and nephews and cousins that pile up by the couch because I don’t carry the type of wallet that has the picture windows.  In other words, things that can’t just be thrown out.  Or that I imagine can’t be thrown out.
  • The night before, I start going through the above mentioned items and separating them into piles…pictures, old report cards, books, newspaper articles that mentions the kids or their schools or their friends or someone I once knew; you get the point.  Still not sure what I’m going to do with these piles, but it’s getting more organized.
  • The day of, after showering and getting other aspects of the house ready I have to cook or run to the store.  Once everything is ready for the guests I should have enough time to figure this out.
  • Five minutes before the first guest arrives I throw everything into my bedroom.  On the floor, the bed, wherever it will fit.

So you can imagine, my bedroom is our junk room.  The major problem with this is that I have been using it as such for quite a while.  And we host my family’s Christmas Eve celebration every year, so you know this happens at least once a winter.  Then there are the barbeques and pool parties with friends and family throughout the summer.  sigh

Do you think I ever go back into our room and go through that stuff?  Hahahahaha!  That’s funny if you think I do.  I can’t get it done when I’m on a deadline, that’s how it ends up in there.  There’s no way I’m getting my booty in my boring room to do it when I can just close the door!

So that’s why I cannot find my bathing suit this year.  The bathing suit I bought from Victoria’s Secret, spending more than I usually do on anything, because I was sick of my “late 30s” body not being held in by the department store suits.  The bathing suit that is going to get me to finally start cleaning and organizing our bedroom.  One of the only rooms in the house we have never done anything with since moving in 9 years ago.  (The half bath, which I abhor, is the other.)

So this is what I have to contend with.  Boxes of books that through the years have also acquired random papers and VHS tapes.  Yes, I said VHS tapes…don’t judge.  Piles of clothes that don’t fit in the one dresser my husband and I share or into our two closets.  (I mean, if I can’t find time to go through things in my living room to you seriously think I’m cleaning out my closets?)  Old report cards, school pictures, essays and projects the boys have done through the years.  And so much more.

I will have to be brutal with my decisions on what stays and what goes.  I will have to part with the size 2 jeans I haven’t worn in 7 years.  Let’s face it, they’re never going to fit again.  I’ll have to get rid of books that aren’t near and dear to my heart.  (My Stephen King books ain’t going nowhere though!)  This will be tough.

Hopefully next time you hear from me I’ll have at least made a dent.  Keep your fingers crossed that I can find the motivation and keep my in your prayers that I don’t get lost in there!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Pit

  1. Pingback: A Day of Rest | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

