The Next Chapter…

When my husband and I got married we were very young.  I was five months out of high school and 18 years old, he was one year into the Navy and 19 years old.  We didn’t have much money but we had a lot of love and respect for each other.  We lived paycheck to paycheck but still decided we wanted to bring children into our lives.  We had Josh less than 2 years into our marriage and Griffin came along about 4 years after that.  We had some extremely rough years, but we made it through.

Fast forward 20 years…we are now living a comfortable life. Sure, we need to consult our checkbook before making a major purchase like a refrigerator or furniture. But we can go grocery shopping with keeping a running tally on a calculator to make sure we’ll have enough money when we get to the register. No, we cannot afford to pay for our older son’s college tuition. Yes, we can afford the gas and hotel expenses we incur while visiting him. You get the picture.

That’s all about to change. Instead of being terrified, I’m a bit excited!

I am about to become a stay at home mom for the first time in over 13 years!

I am not naïve, I remember what it is to be a stay at home mom. I did it for 7 years. A good portion of those years my husband was either out to sea, in the Persian Gulf, or at work. I know I just traded one stressful job for another busy job. Over the years my cleaning and organization habits have gotten worse and worse. The older I get the more tired I would be when I got home from work. My house is now falling down around my ears. It’s another big job I have ahead of me, but I’m excited that I’ll finally be able to have time for it now.

So today is the first day of the next chapter in my life…my family’s life.  Wish us luck!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

