Bond…James Bond

 

I have a feeling this post is going to be very contentious. I am sure there are a million different views on this subject, as well there should be since it is just SO important.  Let’s have a frank discussion (or one-sided conversation, if you will) about James Bond.

I have a tendency to wait a looooong time to watch a movie when people go gaga over it, I want to make sure my expectations aren’t too high.  It will be decades before I see “Silver Linings Playbook” because I just don’t want to be let down.  I felt, being a nominal James Bond fan and not a fanatic, I had waited an appropriate amount of time to watch “Skyfall”.  Apparently, I was wrong.

I’m sorry, I just didn’t get what the fuss was about.  In fact, I found this to be one of the least interesting Bond films.  And it wasn’t just me.  Herb and Griffin weren’t super impressed either.  Very honestly, I watch Bond films for the action and cool gadgets.  Well this movie was sorely lacking in both.  The cinematography was awesome, I will give it that.  I read one review that said this movie would have made a better side story instead of the main story.  I wholeheartedly agree. Yet the movie was over 2 hours long!

Now for the real meat to this discussion, James Bond himself.  Like I said before, I’m a fan but not a fanatic.  When Daniel Craig was chosen as the new Bond after Pierce Brosnan, I didn’t get it at all.  I have many friends who love Daniel Craig.  They drool over him, gets stars in their eyes over him, want to have his babies.  (Just kidding on that last part…I think.) I see things on television about Daniel Craig and how hot he is…I just don’t see the appeal.  No offense to Mr. Craig, but I find him to be a bit funny looking.  And it’s almost like he’s always about to make a duck face.  C’mon…you know what I mean.

Let’s compare:

Bond

How can you not agree that Sean Connery is the hottest Bond ever?  I’m not saying Daniel Craig is the goofiest looking, that honor (dishonor?) goes to Timothy Dalton.  Who I actually almost forgot about and had redo the above picture to include him.  Oops!

As you can most likely figure out from the above paragraph, Sean Connery is my favorite Bond.  That smirk, those eyes, that voice – swoon!  From looking at the above pictures you may be thinking I’m just not attracted to the lighter hair/eye combo on a man.  You would be mistaken.  My husband, who I honestly think is one of the sexiest men in the world, has green eyes and light brown hair that was much lighter when we initially met.

Now my favorite Bond movies are the Pierce Brosnan movies.  The action and gadgets in those films are the best!  Plus, he’s not so bad to look at either.  My second favorite Bond for sure.

What do you think?  Who is your favorite Bond?  And is your favorite Bond also the star of your favorite Bond movies?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

