Snow in April

It’s been quite the busy weekend around here.  A few years back, my sisters and I started a book club.  We’ve gone through many changes over the years (such as my little sister moving to California so no longer being a part of our group) but still continue to meet at least every few months.  All the ladies in the group are very busy, so every month just doesn’t always happen.  We rotate who hosts, eat lots of good food, discuss the kids (for those of us who have them), work, men, marriage….oh, and the book. 

Today was my day to host.  We had a pretty good turn out, 8 of our 10 members.  Yay!  As I’ve mentioned before, my house is in great disorder lately.  So I had a lot of work to get it at least presentable for company.

Yesterday, I spent the day cleaning up the kitchen and living room with the help of my husband and youngest son.  I prepped the main dishes, Impossible Pie (recipe to come soon) and French Toast Casserole.  We have a few vegetarians in the group so I made a meatless version of each as well as the meat filled original versions.  We all usually try to pitch in on the meal so some of the ladies brought fruit salad, a veggie tray and dessert.  We’ve recently started a new tradition of the last hostess bringing the current hostess flowers for the table.  My Aunt Lynne brought me a beautiful bouquet of bright flowers.

532753_10200745138006158_1251934505_n

These flowers really make me yearn for Spring.  As many people in the Midwest and Northeast, I am sick of this cold weather!  It’s funny because all Winter long I will reprimand people for complaining about the weather.  I always say that they live in Michigan so it’s not like they don’t know what to expect every Winter, but they are free to complain come the first day of Spring.  Well the first day of Spring has come and gone almost a month ago and it SNOWED yesterday.  Yep, snow on April 13. 

I guess I shouldn’t complain.  My older son, Josh, goes to college in the Upper Peninsula and they had a snow storm that dumped almost a foot of snow on them on Thursday.  Plus, they still had about 2 feet of packed snow that hadn’t yet melted.  But it so hard to not complain when I’m itching to get my garden cleaned up and started!

All in all, I had a great weekend despite the snow in April.  How was your weekend?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

