Wait Five Minutes

I remember when I was a kid I would here adults talk about Michigan weather.  They would say, “If you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes it will change.”  And that is such a true statement around here.

Then at 18 (I’m still a kid at this point but think I’m an adult) I move to San Diego with my husband.  Can you believe I would still hear people say that about the weather.  In San Diego, California.  I came to the conclusion that these people were either A) natives of Southern California and therefore had no idea what a change in weather actually was, or B) had lived in California for so long their brain was now addled by the sun.

Not to contradict what I just said, but I also was amazed by people who never lived in California who assumed it was always beautiful skies and warm breezes.  That is so not true.  There are definitely different seasons there, they just aren’t as extreme as in the Midwest or Northern states.  If you wait five minutes it may start to rain or stop raining, but it’s not going to change 20 degrees in temperature in a matter of minutes or even from day-to-day.  Yes, the day’s high can vary quite a bit from the day’s low…but at 2 o’clock this afternoon it’s not going to be much different from when it was a 2 o’clock yesterday or 2 o’clock tomorrow. 

12323696_Position1

This is the 7 day forecast for San Diego…nothing too drastic.

I hated winter there.  It was chilly and rainy.  It would get to you after a while.  I quickly realized that I much prefer snow to cold rain.  At least if it was snowing you could go out and build a snowman, go sledding, have a snowball fight.  In cold rain all you can do is stay inside and that is no fun.  Spring, on the other hand, was probably my favorite season there.  It was the only time the flowers were colorful and the grass was green.  Once all that rain that poured down through the winter dried up everything pretty much turned brown.

Now I’m not trying to say Michigan is the only place where the ‘wait five minutes’ saying holds true.  I’ve been to a lot of states, mostly just driving through.  I also do a lot of reading. I’ve come to the conclusion that most of the Midwestern states could say this.  Also, places like Utah and Colorado seem to have some extremes.  Of course the Northeastern states have the same (if not worse) issues to deal with.  I’ll even go so far as to say that Northern California has times where this holds true.  But it’s more of an exception, not a rule.

Here’s what got me on this train of thought:

184754957_Position1

At first glance it doesn’t look too bad, but it really depends on where you’re getting your information.  First, it was a high of 55 yesterday.  And tomorrow?  We’re being told we’ll be lucky if we get into the 60s.  So this is a bit optimistic. 

It’s crazy!  We still have all of our winter coats, hats, gloves and scarves out.  I can’t pack them away because the nights are still really cold.  Today I wore a light hoodie to the grocery store and when I walked out after shopping I thought I was going to melt.  I couldn’t get that thing off fast enough!  The humidity is out in force today, too!  (Do you all know about heat index and wind chill?  Most likely not if you’re not from around these parts.  That’s a discussion for another day.)

I just want to finish this off by saying I don’t hate California.  I know it kind of comes across that way.  But that is not it at all.  I’m just making a point of how a person can get so used to their own atmosphere in their own bubble that they don’t realize that things aren’t as bad as they think.

Happy Thursday everyone!  One more day until the weekend!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

