Life of Pi-lates

I did it!  Two weeks ago today was my last day at my job and I finally worked out this morning!  Yay for me!  LOL

Years and years ago I really wanted the Windsor Pilates DVDs.  I have a huge problem with anything with impact, I get terrible headaches and dizziness.  So these seemed perfect.  I swore up and down this would be “the one”, the exercise regiment that would finally get me on the right track.  I always find something that I convince myself will be “the one”…my elliptical, Wii Fit, the swimming pool.

Either way, today I did it!

41vy4ByWmmL__SY300_

I did the 20 Minute Workout…didn’t want to kill myself right out of the gate.  I am a bit embarrassed to admit, I did some weird hybrid of the regular moves and the modified moves.  A lot of the regular moves were just not possible for me anymore, but the modified moves were a bit too simple.  Whatever.  I felt the stretching and burning going on so that’s a good thing.

The funny thing is, I was thinking about the movie we watched this weekend and I’m such a dork that the title of this post popped into my head.  That’s when I remembered I even had the darn DVDs.  Ah, the amazing human brain and the meandering way it works.

As for the movie, can you guess what we watched?  That right, “Life of Pi“.

MV5BNTg2OTY2ODg5OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODM5MTYxOA@@__V1_SX214_

I loved it!  Griffin and Herb seemed to really enjoy it, too.  I was a bit weary going in…that whole ‘can it live up to the hype’ thing.  It definitely did in my case.

I was enthralled by the cinematography…just beautiful.  And somehow, although for the majority of the film it’s a young man on a boat with a tiger, the dialogue seemed to flow and I didn’t miss it when there was nothing being said – which was often.

Let’s talk about the tiger, Richard Parker.  We all just loved him to pieces!  We have a little (big, fat, fluffy) kitty named Reese (pronounced like the candy).

20130423_111744

That big ole Bengal tiger reminded us of our Reese, especially in the scene with him batting at the stick and when he was stuck in the water looking up at Pi so desperate.  Here’s Reese, doing his usual thing…sleeping on daddy’s chair just after I vacuumed.  Our friends get a kick out of him because he’s so big they don’t expect him to be spry.  He is though, he frolics and jumps around like any cat.

Back to “Life of Pi”, I highly recommend the movie.  Be prepared to laugh and cry.  Probably not so appropriate for young children.  It deals with death a lot.  But for older kids I think it has some wonderful life lessons about perseverance and not giving up.

Well, the sun is shining and it’s supposed to be semi-warm today.  The rest of the week should be cooling down and the rain is coming back.  I guess I should go rake the front lawn so maybe we can get the first lawn mowing of the year in today.  It’s been raining like crazy so the grass is finally greening up and starting to grow.  Yay!

*My DVD set actually came with these two workouts also, but I couldn’t find the complete set that I have online anymore: Bun and Thigh Sculpting and Ab Sculpting
About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life of Pi-lates

  1. Pingback: A Day of Rest | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

