A Day of Rest

Since my last post a few days ago I have gotten a lot accomplished.  At least on the personal front.  But boy or boy my body is aching.

When I woke up on Wednesday I realized the Pilates I did on Tuesday had me using muscles that have been lying (or is it laying???) dormant.  I wasn’t a huge ball of ache, but I could definitely feel it in my upper abs and, oddly enough, my arms.  I wanted to take the day off (my procrastinator mind had a million reasons why I should) but I didn’t.  I decided to do the Bun & Thigh Sculpting Pilates

21oTtbvTj-L

Whooo boy!  Did I feel the burn!  Especially in my gluteus maximus.  That’s a good thing, though.

And yesterday?  Well, I did the 20 Minute Workout again.  Just a little humble brag for ya there 😉

Today I am giving my self permission for a day of rest.  I’m still not a huge ball of ache, but I think my muscles could use a break.

Last night I dropped some heavy hints to my husband that I need my elliptical.  When Josh left for college we did a total switcheroo with some of the bedrooms.  Griffin moved to the room in the basement that used to be Josh’s.  Herb turned Griffin’s old room into an office (I use that term loosely…it’s more of a gaming center), and the very small room that we used as a sort of den was supposed to be my library/sewing room.  We wanted to get our own bedroom in order before really getting down to the nitty-gritty on the other rooms.  So basically only the stuff was moved, no actual redecorating yet.  In the process, my elliptical was taken out of our bedroom in pieces and put in the basement…where it still sits.

I told Herb that I really need to get some cardio into my routine so had been thinking of going for a walk yesterday morning.  Unfortunately, it was in the low 30s and rainy and I’m just not that motivated yet.  I’m so proud of him…he said he’s been meaning to get the office organized enough to bring that back up for me. He thought of that all on his own – with my hint.  Gold star for the hubby!

herbstar

Isn’t he dreamy?  Even with the weird shadow behind his jaw.  I swoon…

So anyway, my hopes are that I’ll have an operational elliptical (say that 3 times fast) by the end of the weekend.

If not, it’s finally warming up.  It’s also supposed to stay relatively dry for a few days.  So lots of yard work will be done this weekend.  We’ve been wanting to get a jump on the weed situation (you know, those nasty things that grow in the cracks of the sidewalk – ugh!) but it’s either been too cold or too wet.  If the weather holds like it’s supposed to, we’re actually going to get a few days in row in the  60s!  Woohoo!!!!  Maybe I can take some walks after all 😀

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

