Girl Talk – Part One

Can we have some girl talk? Not that I’m asking the men to stop reading. Maybe it will do you good to see what we women deal with. But I will warn you, it may take some of the mystery out of your lives.

I’m going to start with the more frustrating of my recent girl problems. Dying my hair. I used to dye my own hair all the time. The fact is, at the time I had really short hair. I mean SUPER short.

Family Vacation 2009

Family Vacation 2009 – Lake Michigan

Oh my goodness…my babies are babies in this picture!  Where has the time gone?

Anyway, back on point.  Obviously, it wasn’t to difficult to dye that hair.  It’s super thick, but so short there was no parting and bringing the dye to the ends.

Somewhere around six months after that picture was taken I decided to grow my hair out again.  I was kind of bored with the same hairstyle EVERY SINGLE DAY.  Whether I was going to work, a wedding or at home cleaning I had the same hairstyle.

I will be totally honest and open about this…I still haven’t decided on an actual hairstyle.  So it just keeps growing and growing.

November 2012...20th Anniversary in front of Comerica Park

November 2012…20th Anniversary in front of Comerica Park

As you can see in this disgustingly mushy photo (the only recent one I could find showing the actual back-ish of my hair) it is much longer now.

Now I don’t color my hair very often, I’m lazy about it for sure.  Sometimes the grey gets to be too much and I become vain and finally go and get it done.  Yes, get it done. About a year or so ago I realized I can no longer do it myself.  I just have TOO MUCH HAIR!  Seriously, you don’t even know.  It is so thick and wavy.  Last time I tried coloring my hair on my own it looked like an ink pen exploded in the bathroom, and my skin wasn’t much better off.

It’s been warm so I’ve been wearing braids a lot.  The bad thing about that?  No hiding my grey.  Yesterday I realized my hair looked 60 years old, and I’m only 39. 

Being down to one income here, I didn’t feel it was prudent to pay to get my hair done.  Not only is the at home dye cheaper, but I also had a coupon.  I had trepidations.  I ignored them.  Gosh darn it, how hard could it really be?  I must have been remembering wrong.  No way I’m that clumsy that I can’t dye my own hair.

Yes…yes I can by that clumsy.  Why don’t I ever listen to myself?

I am proud to say I did much better at keeping it on my hair and off the bathroom counters and floors. 

I also had a hole in one of the gloves and now like I write with ink and quill.

why does it look like I have more than 5 fingers?

why does it look like I have more than 5 fingers?

Luckily, I remembered an old trick and put Vaseline around my hairline.  The very first thing I did was drop a blob of dye onto my forehead.  But it wiped up easy as pie.  The rest was not so smooth.  It took me about 45 minutes to get the darn stuff in my hair.

Then the conundrum.  Do you still wait 25 minutes?  But the first stuff went in 45 minutes ago so wouldn’t that be 70 minutes?  Well, my grey is quite resistant so what the heck.  Why not?

After it was all washed out and I was able to assess the damage I’ve come to the conclusion that I can no longer do this myself.  Luckily my brother’s girlfriend has offered to help me next time after hearing my sob story.  I do have some dark spots around my hairline and got too much dye on my scalp, but it could have been worse.

Next time…The Problem With a Push-Up Bra.  Be sure to come back for that one.  It was quite the funny incident.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

