Girl Talk – Part Two

I’m going to start off by saying that I absolutely love Victoria’s Secret and I don’t mean this post to in any way take away from their wonderful products.  Their garments allow me to pretend that gravity has not effected me even though I have two children.  I am fortunate enough that I haven’t ended up with the “boxing bag” boobs after having my kids (you know what I’m talking about), but they sure aren’t as perky as they used to be!

It took me many years of boobs popping out, discovering I was walking around with one breast was sagging lower than the other all day, and bras that stretched out within months to realize that the bra is a piece of clothing you have to put a little money into buying.  No more bargain bras for this girl!

I honestly don’t remember the style of my first VS bra, I only remember it was discontinued after a couple of years and I was devastated.  I finally learned to wear a good bra, found one that worked for me, and it was gone!  It was suggested by a lovely saleswoman at the time that I try the Very Sexy bra.  So glad I listened to her!  About 10 years later and I still use this collection for all of my bra needs.

Truth talk:  I do not have a bra for every day of the week.  In fact, I don’t have a lot of bras at all.  I will usually buy two bras at the same time and say to myself that I will come back in a month or two and buy 2 more so I can have more in my rotation.  But life gets in the way and I don’t get around to it…I tend to shop for myself only when I’m in dire need of something.  I’ll also tell myself that I can keep the old bras in rotation and still be using 4-5 bras a week.  I also don’t do that.  Because when you shop as infrequently as I do, you realize how much better the new bra fits when you put it on…how much better your shirts now fit you.  WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG TO GET A NEW BRA?!?  (That is always screamed in my head – every time, I swear.)  I end up wearing those two new bras and the old bras get pushed to the back of the drawer.

I guess what I’m trying to say is even though I have at least 5 bras, I really only wear two on a regular basis.  Considering I have been at least a C cup since 7th grade, I pretty much have to wear a bra every day.  Don’t get me wrong, I know there are many women out there who are MUCH larger than I am…my mom is one of them.  I’ve seen the raw skin, rashes, and indents from straps that she gets.  I am thankful I don’t have to deal with these issues.  But since we’re truth telling here, you know darn well a C cup cannot go running around without a bra.  So having only two bras in regular rotation sure takes it’s toll on those bras.

Now for my embarrassing story…

My husband took last Monday off from work since we had initially planned on picking Josh up from college on Friday/Saturday.  He wanted the extra day to recuperate.  When we changed our travel plans he decided he still wanted the extra day.  My mom had taken Griffin to see Iron Man 3 on Friday while we were driving home, so we decided we’d go on Monday to a matinee. (I will eventually get around to a review, but the short and sweet answer is I loved it).  We don’t usually see movies the first week they’re out because I have an issue with crowded places.  We figured noon on a Monday while school was still in session would be perfect…and it was.

MV5BMjIzMzAzMjQyM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzM2NjcyOQ@@__V1_SX214_

Straight to the theater, watched the movie, straight home.  I didn’t even take my hoodie off while we were at the movie because I’m always freezing at the theater.  We each had a pop (free with our MJR points!) and shared a popcorn.

Imagine my surprise when Herbie notices I have a HUGE wet spot on my shirt.  It went from just under my left breast down to my belly button in an upside down teardrop shape.  What the heck?  I grab my shirt and pull it up toward my nose to see if there’s an odor (there’s not) and discover it’s oily.  What is going on?  Herbie feels it and actually licks his finger (gross) to see if there’s a taste (there’s not).

Almost jokingly, he says maybe my bra popped.  I say no way.  I don’t even know if there’s liquid in these bras.  They do have a light padding, but I never paid that much attention.  I just know they make my boobs look good!

I take my bra off and discover my whole breast is oily, making me start to think he’s right.  But then I feel the right cup and it doesn’t feel like there’s anything liquidy in there.  We try doing a web search for what is inside the VS Very Sexy bra and all we can find is about the fabric.

Herbie says: Maybe the other side already leaked out at a previous time.

I say: And I didn’t notice a huge oil spot on my shirt?

He says: It could have been a slow leak.

I go and grab another bra and realize he’s right.  There is some sort of liquid in there!  My bra popped!  Or, as Herbie likes to say, my boob popped.

Even more mystifying…what happened to the liquid in the right side bra cup?

You know what this means?  I have to go shopping.  Also, I’ve dug out a few older bras to get me through until I go shopping.  It is now Friday and this happened on Monday, I still haven’t gone.  So you can see how excited I am about this.  (Am I the only woman alive that hates shopping for clothes/shoes/accessories?)

I swear, I don’t think men (no offense men) could deal with the issues we have as women.  Can you imagine if I was still working and that happened at work?  Or if we had gone somewhere other than a dark movie theater?

Once more, I’d like to point out that this is NOTHING against Victoria’s Secret.  I love their products.  I just need to have more of them so I don’t wear them out.  (Did I mention this bra is at least two years old?)  I also didn’t post pictures because I wasn’t sure if you’re allowed to do that on a blog???

What is the most embarrassing girl (or boy) issue that ever happened to you? The above was not the most embarrassing, not by far.  That’s a story for another day I’m sure.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

