My Summer So Far – Part 1

My summer has ended up being crazy busy…just as I predicted.  It wasn’t all work though, there was plenty of fun thrown into the mix.

The more days that went by, the more I couldn’t figure out how to “catch things up” around here.  I decided to do it with pictures.  They do say a picture’s worth a thousand words!

My problem with that thought is I have hundreds of pictures I’d love to share.  Even as I was able to whittle it down to about 50, I realized that is far too many for one post.  So I’ll be giving you my summer so far – in about four parts.

Our summer started off with my nephew’s graduation, his graduation party, beach fun with my visiting sister and Griffin going off to camp.

Griffin handing out programs at graduation

Griffin handing out programs at graduation

proud aunt and uncle (my boys get their not smiling for pictures gene from their dad)

proud aunt and uncle
(my boys get their not smiling for pictures gene from their dad)

The next one has a little story behind the pose.  Last year, my nephew was the only one not graduating out of a group of boys that all hang out and are (were) on the swim team together.  We took a picture of him standing in middle of them all with their caps and gowns on and said we’d have to recreate it the next year when he graduates.  Well, we were missing one person, but we kind of got the shot.

The graduated with his old swim team buddies My Josh, Josh, Austin & Chris

The graduate with his old swim team buddies
My Josh, Josh, Austin & Chris

My little sister Katie (the pastry chef) came in from California again to make Nathan’s graduation cake.  He will be going off to Michigan Tech just like Josh did.  Unfortunately, Josh isn’t going back right now.  My cousin (their 2nd cousin who is their age) Henry is also going to Tech.  Josh is going to the local community college to save money and figure out what he wants to do before going back to Tech (or wherever life takes him).

Viewed from the top, that top tier is the MTU mascot

Viewed from the top, that top tier is the MTU mascot

Bottom Layer:  Nate was named MVP of our district in swimming, MVP of our team…and his teammates have called him Butta for years (as in, smooth like butta)

Middle Layer:  Nathan went to Europe as part of People to People last summer.  All around are the names of the different countries he visited.

Top Layer: Michigan Tech Huskies!!!

Griffin and his "sister" Baylee.  Friends since 6th grade, were on middle school swim team together (boys & girls are separate in high school) and their big brothers swam together.

Griffin and his “sister” Baylee. Friends since 6th grade, were on middle school swim team together (boys & girls are separate in high school) and their big brothers swam together.

Nathan's wall of memories at his grad party

Nathan’s wall of memories at his grad party

goofy faces!

goofy faces!

Ending the night watching fireworks :)

Ending the night watching fireworks 🙂

My sister wasn’t here for long.  She spent the first few days making the cake, so ended up with exactly one day totally free.  We loaded up the kiddos and went to the beach!  It turned out to be a perfect day for it, too.

My nieces, Grace (9) and Liz (5) on the monster water slide at the beach

My nieces, Grace (9) and Liz (5) on the monster water slide at the beach

I’m not sure why they had this big slide at the beach, other than to make money.  The boys didn’t mind not going, but those little girls and their puppy eyes…we had to get them a few tickets.  They had a blast!

braving the cool waters

braving the cool waters

I tell ya, looking back at these pictures has really made me see how much Griffin has grown over the summer.  He’s like a weed right now!

I’ll try to post the next installment tomorrow.

How is your summer going?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

