My Summer So Far – Part 4 (the last)

Although summer isn’t quite over, this is the last of my “catch up” posts.  Hopefully there will be more fun crammed into the last few weeks before school starts.  My husband has all of next week off and we don’t have anything special planned, but we do have a work picnic today and a casual reunion at the park tomorrow with people who went to our high school.  I don’t say people we graduated with because it’s a mix of people from all different classes…all are invited.

Before I get into the last batch of pictures, I have to share a random picture of our cat Reese.  He’s a big boy, let me tell ya.  You know how cats love boxes.  Well, he commandeered this box earlier this summer and I don’t have the heart to take it away from him.  I mean, look at that sweet face!

DSC01273

By far, the saddest part of my summer was saying good-bye to my big sister.  Gina’s husband, Joel, has lived in Arizona for years while she has been here in Michigan with her son and their daughter, Grace.  He is in the Border Patrol and hasn’t been able to get an assignment in Michigan, which has been really hard on them all.  Now that Nathan has graduated from high school and going off to college it was time for Gina and Grace to join Joel out west.  My sister has always been a rock for our whole family.  She’s such a nurturer and will do anything for anyone.  My boys have spent countless nights with her hanging with their cousin, gone on trips with her, she’s been at their special events.  I’ve always had her by my side during their swim meets.  First, watching Josh and Nathan as teammates.  Later, watching Nathan and Griffin as teammates.  She used to be a nurse and is always the first one we all call with health issues, and she always helps calm those fears.  I’m going to miss her more than can ever be expressed.

Here are pictures of us having fun while loading their moving truck.  My cousin, Henry (who is Nathan’s age) and the boys’ good friend, Charley (she is also an assistant swim coach for the high school team), were also there helping out and having fun.

Herb & Grace, saying good-bye

Herb & Grace, saying good-bye

Cousins making goofy faces

Cousins making goofy faces

Pyramid Time!

Pyramid Time!

The next one, I feel, needs some explanation.  After the pyramid collapsed, everyone started trying to do kip-ups.  It was hilarious to watch.  Griffin ended up the only one able to get on his feet.  This is him mid-kip.

DSC01664

And this is Henry attempting to do a cartwheel.  I ended up giving him some lessons and he had it by the end of the day.  But this picture makes me laugh every time I see it so I had to include it in the post.

DSC01671

Now a few sentimental images 😦

DSC01703 DSC01709

Please ignore the massive amounts of grey hair on my head, the disheveled “we’re moving heavy boxes” look, and the dark circles under our eyes.  But you can note that our mom has a full head of white hair and has for a long, long time…so it’s genetic.  Don’t let Gina’s more recently dyed hair fool ya!  Our little sister, Katie, is the only one not yet afflicted with the grey hair.  Me, I found my first one in high school.  I’m too lazy to keep up with the dying though.

Who are those creepers behind our beautiful good-bye?

My gorgeous niece Grace, with a couple of creepers in the background.

My gorgeous niece Grace, with a couple of creepers in the background.

Finally, Josh taking a break.  He’s just so handsome I had to add this.  Such a good boy, too.  He spent all day at work moving boxes and stocking shelves, then came straight over to help at his aunt’s.  I adore him 🙂

DSC01728

That wraps up my recap.  Now I’m off to that work picnic.  And Griffin’s OCS graduation is later today.  Even though it’s not really his graduation, he’ll be leading his squad and we want to go watch.

What are your weekend plans?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

