Book Review – The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I recently realized that I never told you what my mom picked for her book club selection.  Since that book club date has come and gone, obviously you won’t be able to read-along with us.  But…I thoroughly enjoyed the book so would still like to recommend it to you.

We readThe Perks of Being a Wallflowerby Stephen Chbosky.  If you haven’t already heard of the book, perhaps you’ve heard of the movie?51U6M-lTxkL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_[1]

I generally like to read a book before seeing the movie.  I like to form the characters in my mind myself, not have a preconceived idea of what someone else thinks they look and talk like.  I have so many books on my “to read” list that I thought it would be quite a while before I got to this one and didn’t see any harm on watching the movie when it came up next on our Netflix queue.  Then my mom picks it as her book of choice within months of me seeing the movie.  Oh well, what can ya do?

It took me a month to read this small book. That’s not exactly accurate. In actuality, I read this before bed over 3 nights…a little at a time. Those three nights were really spread out. It’s not that I didn’t like the book, the writing or the characters. I actually really liked all of them. It’s that I wasn’t in a place in my life for a book with this “tone”.

There’s a dark cloud hanging over all of the characters. They are all wonderful, lovable people. But they all have real life problems and concerns. The writing, for me, was so real that it was just hitting too close to home.  It’s summertime!  I want to be happy and cheery!  That just goes to show how good the author was at developing his characters and his story.  So real!

I felt the movie followed the book a lot better than most do. My book club was split between those that saw the movie first and those that read the book first. There are two major downfalls to having seen the movie first. Apparently, those that didn’t say they pictured Sam (played by the gorgeous Emma Watson aka Hermione Granger) totally different in their mind.

emma-watson-hermione-granger_1024x768_20940

Also, you already know Charlie’s secret that he doesn’t even know himself.

So, without giving away any spoilers and to stop my rambling…this book was beautiful. It will make you smile and weep, even at the same time. If possible, read it before you see it. Unlike most book to movies, it doesn’t totally ruin it if you already saw the movie…so if you did see it, read the book anyway.

Our next book will be a bit lighter in tone. Seriously…I’m Kiddingby Ellen DeGeneres.  We’ll be meeting at Tina’s (she is my little sister’s best friend and a newlywed with a new home, so I’m excited to see her place!) on September 13, expect a review around that date.

Hopefully I’ll have a chance to get some pictures off of my camera tomorrow from my husband’s work picnic yesterday.  So I should be back soon 🙂

How do you feel about books made into movies?  Would you rather see the movie first or read the book first?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He is getting married this coming summer! I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

