Polar Vortex

Is it just me, or does it seem like meteorologists make up words and phrases? I swear, in all my life I have never heard of a polar vortex. And aside from approximately 10 years while my husband was in the Navy, my life has been lived in Michigan.

Regardless, I’m sure most of you have also experienced the Polar Vortex of 2014 (said in a deep, announcer man sounding voice). Where it seemed most areas of the United States had lower than normal temps, I know you all didn’t get the crazy snow and low temps we got here in the mitten state.  That lovely honor was left to the mid-West states like us.

This was taken on Tuesday morning.  It got even colder than this, but it happened to be when I thought to take a screen shot.

Please note the red arrow.  Brrrrrr!!!

Please note the red arrow. Brrrrrr!!!

I have a confession to make. I didn’t leave my house from Saturday afternoon until Thursday late morning. I went 116 hours without experiencing fresh air or the wind on my face. I am not exaggerating here. No going out to get the mail, no shoveling, no going outside. It started snowing on Saturday evening and we were supposed to get over a foot. It snowed a bit over night and then all day on Sunday. Then the polar vortex blew in the cold weather. Super sub-zero temps. Griffin was supposed to go back to school after the holiday break on Monday. School got cancelled Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Monday due to the snow, Tuesday and Wednesday due to the extreme cold. It was crazy!

Here I am, finally stepping foot outside.

DSC02321

Little tidbit about me…I don’t own boots.  These are my husband’s.  In fact, Griffin doesn’t have boots either.  We decided for him, we’re going to skip a year of buying any because he now fits in his father’s boots and it seems silly to have two pairs of boots the same size when he only uses them to shovel snow.  They’re a bit big on me, of course, but all I was doing was stepping outside for some fresh air.

DSC02325

See that snow piled up between fences (I never got around to taking down the chain link when our neighbors put up the privacy fence this year).  It looks like a snow blower packed that in there, right?  Well, we don’t have a snow blower.  We used to, but when it bit the dust we decided to put off the huge expense.  After all, we have two able-bodied sons living at home.  My point, however, is that it snowed a LOT.  Enough for it to get packed between the fences like it was thrown there by machine.

DSC02333

My gargoyle even got buried.  See his little wings poking up?

DSC02343

My husband was driving my car to work all week.  This is Josh’s car, which is not really safe to drive in this weather.  Josh drives Herb’s car to work since it’s better on gas and he works further away.  Usually Herb would drive the Buick, but he didn’t even want to chance the 3 miles to work in this old beast.

DSC02340

This is my neighbor’s house.  As beautiful as I think icicles are, I know it most likely means there are issues with the gutters and/or the roof.  So I’m glad we don’t have these beauties hanging off our house.  Instead, we got this one quirky icicle.

DSC02339

So here we are, a week after the storm started, and it’s in the mid 40’s.  Ahhh, that crazy Michigan weather.  Today happens to be my 40th birthday, and I do not recall many birthdays that were anywhere near this warm.  In fact, until a few years ago, we always had a huge winter storm on my birthday.  Times they are a-changing.

How did you survive the storm?  Did you also get to stay inside in the warmth of your home or are you someone whose job actually made it so you were outside in the craziness?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Polar Vortex

  1. Pingback: Monday Mash-Up #1 (1/20/14 – 1/26/14) | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

