Reading Style and Book Club Info

How do you read books? One at a time, never starting anything new until the very last page of the book before is read and cataloged away in your brain? Many books at once so you can pick up something in the genre you’re in the mood for? Maybe you don’t enjoy reading at all?

If so, I’m sorry but I don’t understand you. I don’t judge because my husband can count on one had the number of novels he’s read in his life. (Okay, I lied…I judge you and him.  It’s just something I don’t understand.)

btw - lucky me, I found him :)

btw – lucky me, I found him 🙂

I mentioned in an earlier post that I have issues reading just one book at a time if the book is over 200 pages. Not only that, but I enjoy re-reading certain books which usually means I will read even more books at one time since I know what’s going to happen in the book I’m re-reading.

Sometimes when I sit down to read, I want to exercise my brain. I want to be challenged and have deep thoughts.

454856[1]

Other times I want an escape. A light romance or something in the YA genre that isn’t too heavy.

13494237[1]

Then there are the times I want a thrill. Not necessarily horror. Being as I am a HUGE Stephen King fan you may not believe that I’m not a big horror fan. And I can guarantee that if you feel that way, you are not a Stephen King fan yourself. His stories are, in most cases, not horror. But they are thrilling and often somewhat spiritual.

hardcover_prop_embed[1]

Speaking of spiritual, sometimes that is what I am in the mood for. Something to better myself. Something that will enlighten or enliven me.

381555[1]

And, if I’m being honest, sometimes I want to read something that will give me a good cry. I find crying can be cleansing.

6323104[1]

If I cannot finish a book within a day or two, I often get started on another book in a different genre. Not because I’m not enjoying the book I’m reading, but because I am in the mood for something other than what I’m reading.

One of my all-time favorite series is the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. If I remember correctly, there were already 5 books out when I discovered this series. I read them all one after the other. These are extremely long books. I don’t think any of them are under 700 pages. Yet, when book 6 came out I felt the urge to re-read the whole series from beginning to end. Then, a few years later when book 7 came out I re-read them all again. Now, it’s coming up on time for book 8 to come out. Plus, Starz is doing a television show based on the books. So a few months ago I started re-reading the series again. I gave myself plenty of time because I knew, since I’ve read the books a few times, I wouldn’t be reading them quickly anymore. This is one of the prime examples of me reading multiple books at one time.

I also tend to do this with our book club books. Not that I don’t enjoy what my fellow club members pick to read, I’m just not always in the mood for the type of book we’re reading.

How long it takes me to read a book usually has no bearing on the level of my enjoyment from the book. Some of my favorite books (the Dark Tower series by Stephen King, another series I’ve read multiple times) have taken me the longest to read.

hardcover2_prop_embed[1]

Another thing about my reading habits…I almost never abandon a book. I know, with the length of my reading wish list I should give no extra time to books I can’t get into. I just can’t ever feel I gave a story its fair shake if I don’t get to the end.

Final piece of information, our book club info is very sporadic and wishy-washy this month. We were going to meet last week, but nobody but me and my mom could make it. It looks like we’ll be meeting either February 9 or February 23. So expect my recap of my book club anywhere from mid to late February. To remind you, we are reading Don’t Order Dog by C. T. Wente.

What is your reading style?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading Style and Book Club Info

  1. Pingback: Monday Mash-Up #7 | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

