Monday Mash-Up #1 (1/20/14 – 1/26/14)

I often have snippets of conversations with myself.  Well, not really with myself.  With my sister, my husband, you guys, my mom.  Except, nobody else is there.  These are conversations I want to have with them that I think about, but it’s not a convenient time to call them.  Or text or write or whatever.  When it comes to things I want to blog about, often these things aren’t enough for a whole post.  I decided to do a type of round-up once a week.  I can tell you about what books I’ve read, what I’ve been up to, websites that made me laugh (or cry), movies you must go see.  Just an all-around mash-up.  So here we go…

The Polar Vortex has struck again.  School was cancelled due to subzero temperatures (-20 wind chills) on Friday.  Unfortunately, that has put quite a monkey wrench into both swimming and JROTC. 

There was supposed to be a swim meet on Friday between all of the high schools in our city.  It wouldn’t have counted toward anything in their division, it was more for bragging rights.  But, more than that, it was the last day for the boys to make their cut times to qualify for the county swim meet next weekend.  School being cancelled put the kibosh on the meet 😦

Our high school was supposed to host a JROTC drill competition on Saturday.  It’s an annual thing and, although a lot of work, a lot of fun.  To  my dismay, a bunch of schools started pulling out on Friday morning even though Saturday’s temps were supposed to be much better.  But snow was expected.  Finally, Sergeant decided to cancel it and reschedule for a later date. 

The above cancelled activities opened up what was set to be an extremely busy weekend.  We decided to take advantage of the found time and take Griffin and some of his buddies to see Lone Survivor.  I will definitely be doing a review on that one!  

MV5BMjA0NTgwOTk5Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjE3NDc5OQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_[1]

Being the ripe old age of 40, I asked my husband for warm socks for my birthday.  He got me a set of wool socks and some really cool cotton socks that I fell in love with.  He saw how much I loved the cotton socks and ordered me some more.  I now have too many socks, but I’m loving it!  These are so FUN!  They are called Solmate Socks.  I love their line “life is too short to wear matching socks”.  Who would have thought the my OCD would even allow me to wear mismatched socks, but for some reason it works.

daffodil[1]

I’m not usually one to watch the Grammy’s.  It’s not that I don’t like music, but I don’t like a lot of the personalities so get annoyed watching the show.  I made sure to watch last night, though.  With Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr set to be there and Griffin’s favorites Daft Punk performing, it was sure to be a good show.  Then to have Paul and Ringo perform together…I got all 60’s teenager fan girl over here!  I loved when Daft Punk was named Best Pop Duo/Group Performance and they kept to their no talking persona and had Pharrell do all the talking for them.  And how about the Best New Artist speech by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, as soon as Macklemore brought up the fact that they did this all without a record label the “wrap it up” music started.  Classic!  I didn’t realize Daft Punk was performing with Stevie Wonder, so that was cool.  I wish they would have given them a bigger stage and that their equipment would have been more open to the audience, but knowing how they are I’m sure it was their decision to play it that way.  Ha!  I guess I should have just done a separate post on the Grammy’s.  I guess I had more to say than I thought I would.  *edit: obviously, I wrapped this post up and went to bed before the Grammy’s were over since there was so much more that happened.  What can I say, I stayed up as late as I could and DVR’d the rest.

th[8]Of course I cannot talk about the Grammy’s without mentioning this Pepsi commercial.  OMG!  My husband and I were cracking up!

Other bits from on the line:

I’m not a lefty, but I have many family members that are.  I think they’d appreciate this.

Hahaha!  Another reason I don’t drink very much.

I can’t believe people spent that much money to get online papers!  Very interesting.

Finally, here are the books I finished reading this week:

10285881[1]9949793[1]

8417155[1]17185109[1]

17185135[1]17181855[1]18283770[1]

On slate for this week: 

More swim meets, including the county swim meet which Griffin should be swimming in as part of a relay team.  And, of course, more reading.

What are you up to this week?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

