Super Bowl XLVIII Commercials

I’m one of those people who watch the Super Bowl for the commercials.  Sometimes I even enjoy the halftime show.  On rare occasion, when it’s a tight game, I get into the game.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I dislike sports.  But I don’t watch them just for the sake of watching sports.  I’m a hometown girl, meaning I will get all the way behind my hometown teams – even the Lions.  Since I’m not holding my breath waiting for the Lions to make it to the Super Bowl, it may be that I’ll always be watching the Super Bowl for the commercials.

Super Bowl XLVIII certainly started out interesting enough.  Our oldest, Josh, is not one to sit and watch sports unless he’s in the actual stadium.  Even when given the opportunity to go to a game (no matter the sport) he often turns it down.  It’s just not his thing.  He happened to be walking through the living room during one of the replays of the opening kickoff and subsequent safety and even he was flabbergasted.  I’m not going to recap the game, as I’ve said it’s not my reason for watching.  I am just going to say it ended up being a crazy one for sure.  And boring.  I’m sorry, but when it’s so one sided it gets hard to stay focused.  My Facebook feed was awash with comments likening the Broncos fans to Detroit Lions fans, how embarrassed they must have been feeling.  My heartfelt condolences to the Broncos fans because it’s true, we here in Detroit know the feeling.

Now, onto the commercials!

I have a thing for the poetic commercials.  Whether it’s an actual poem or just someone talking about deep issues, they speak to me.  So the Maserati Ghibli commercial instantly caught my attention.  I will say I was disappointed it was a car commercial; I was hoping it was something more noble like a group to help kids who are bullied.  I hope it still spoke to those kids who were watching, even once they saw what it was for.

The Chevy Silverado commercial made me giggle.  Of course, it was all about the music with this one.  Too funny 🙂

The Turbo Tax commercial was another one that ended up being for something totally different than I thought it would be for, but I loved the “stats on Sean” part and the 80’s vibe.

Speaking of the 80’s, the Radio Shack ad really caught my eye.  My husband commented that it’s about time they updated, so I guess the commercial is not only interesting but also true.  It was great to see Mary Lou Retton in a commercial with Qbert.  Awesome!

The two part Wonderful pistachios ad was smart.  The first part caught my attention because it had Stephen Colbert and a falcon with a tie on.  Not really funny at all, but they can’t all be winners.  Then we get the H&M David Beckham commercial that had the ladies all abuzz.  Oh, now we’re back to Stephen Colbert in part two of the Wonderful spot.  And that was the clincher.  Genius!

I can’t really explain why, but this Car Max commercial tickled my funny bone.  I think it was having Rudy as one of the slow clappers.  My husband enjoyed the dad letting go of his son’s bike to clap…he has a weird sense of humor.

Winner of the biggest tear-jerker commercial goes to Budweiser for the Homecoming commercial.  They are absolutely right; every soldier does deserve a hero’s welcome.  I’m glad they gave it to at least one.  If only they could all feel so loved and appreciated when they come home.

A close second in the tear-jerker category goes to the Microsoft Empowering ad.  Very touching.

The commercial with the most sexual innuendo turned hilariously awkward would have to be for Oikos.  Someone needs a raise after thinking that gem up!  Pure gold!  My kids didn’t really get it but they still found it funny since they know who Bob Saget is and love him.

Finally, the highly anticipated Chrysler commercial, I felt it was a homerun.  You put Detroit, Rosie the Riveter, Bob Dylan, cowboys and American cars in one ad and I’m sold!  Although my favorite Chrysler Super Bowl ad is still the 2011 Eminem commercial.  I’m sure that’s my Detroit pride showing.

Some others that I liked that deserve mention but I’m not going to link to them because I’m too lazy right now:

  • Volkswagen’s wings and rainbows commercial.  The bathroom scene was awesome.
  • The 24 commercials were really well done.  They had us speculating what they were for which I think is the point of any ad; to get people talking.
  • Goldie Blox.  I had heard of them before and I’ve even seen this ad online, I was glad it was shown during the Super Bowl.
  • The Tim Tebow commercials for T-Mobile were good, made even better that they were on during the biggest football event of the year.
  • I found the Coke ad with the little boy who ran all the way to the big stadium to be extremely cute.

I want to finish with a bit about halftime.  I really enjoyed the show.  Instead of going for big stunts and too many bands/singers to keep up with they kept it understated with just Bruno Mars with an appearance by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  I do wish the Chili Peppers would have done another song, but it was still great.  Then, to bring it all to a close and give the workers a chance to break down the halftime set, Bruno Mars performed Just the Way You Are with a lead in by service members overseas on the big screen dedicating the song to their loved ones.  I feel like it was the classiest halftime in a long time.

One last thing to add; it’s more of a complaint to the network execs.  Back when we lived in California, the timing of the game was perfectly fine.  Being in the Eastern time zone it sucks!  Why do they have it so late when most people have work and school the next day?  Then, they take two of my favorite shows and have special episodes airing AFTER the game.  What?!?  So now I should stay up until midnight?  Of course, that’s what the DVR is for, but even with that it’s not 100% reliable.  The game ended early, therefore the post game show ended early, therefore New Girl started before the scheduled time.  I just don’t get it.  If the network (or is it a decision by the NFL?) insists on the game being so late in the day, couldn’t they at least play those television shows before the game on the East side of the country?

What’s your favorite part of Super Bowl Sunday?  Do you watch for the game or the commercials?  Or maybe you don’t watch at all?  I’m also partial to the food!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

