Monday Mash-Up #4

I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve had a really full week.  A week that was full of sitting on my butt watching other people in top physical shape doing the impossible.  So I guess I was trying to deceive you with that first sentence.  But it sounded better than the second  😉 

I was going to just add Olympic highlights to this post, but I found I had so many they warrant their own.  You can check them out here in the next few days.

Without further ado…

  • Griffin and his team finally finished their regular season meets, and they came out the dual meet champs for the MAC Gold Division!  Woohoo!  Next up, the division meet this coming Friday and Saturday.  Go Panthers!

IMG_20140213_081952

  • One more swimming note, Griff beat his goal time in both the 500 freestyle and the 100 freestyle.  So he’s set new goals times.  Yay!  I’m very proud of my baby boy.  He can swim all strokes decently, so he gets bumped around a lot.  One meet he could be swimming the IM and Fly, next meet he’ll be in the 200 free and 500 free.  So he doesn’t really have a specialty, so to speak.
  • There is still tons of snow on the ground, but we’ve had a few days in the 20’s!  We even have a chance of having a couple of days in the 40’s this week.  Could it be that this deep freeze is coming to an end??? (hint…it’s not)
  • Remember my thoughts on the Team USA Olympic clothing and the price?  Well, I guess I’m spoiled and my husband has an online shopping problem.  He surprised me with the hat.

20140214_123511

  • Anyone else totally stoked that Walking Dead is back?  Although I wanted to smack some sense into Carl during the first episode back.  I had to keep reminding myself that he is a teenager and had to kill his mom.  As for the second episode, that was a homerun!  I loved seeing (almost) everyone and learning their fate.  I was on the edge of my seat for much of the episode.
  • Ellen Page has come out admitting she is gay.  I find it sad that she was not comfortable enough to do so until now, when she’s already 26 years old.  Page said, “I am tired of hiding and I am tired of lying by omission.  I suffered for years because I was afraid to be out.  My spirit suffered, my mental health suffered and my relationships suffered.”  I’m so glad she found the courage to come out, but disturbed that it has to be so difficult for humans to accept themselves and others.  That we, as a species, allow others to live and hide from their true selves because of the fear and selfishness of others.

Other bits from On The Line:

  • Although I actually did know most of these facts because I love the movie Tropic Thunder, I still loved this list.  It made me want to watch the movie again.
  • Speaking of movies, I cannot wait to see the Lego Movie.  In the meantime, this blooper real keeps me giggling.

  • There are a few gems in this video of celebrities reading mean tweets about themselves.  I don’t know what it was, but the Tom Hanks tweet had me crying!
  • Have you noticed the plethora of quizzes flying around lately?  It seems these things come around in spurts.  But I’m a sucker for them so take most of them.  I just can’t understand the results sometimes (Cookie) and other times they make perfect sense (Thor).

ZaUz9kyun3Zl[1]

w90607O3Ll7l[1]

  • I am by far not an artist.  I wish I had that talent, but I don’t.  I do have the gene for art appreciation though.  And these pictures and the ideas for them are amazing.

Believe it or not, I actually finished a couple of books this week!  Here they are:

8401699[1]10987[1] 

Please do not judge me for the cover and title of the one, I am not the one who chose either…I just read decided to read the darn thing.

On slate for this week:

Fun and not-so-fun stuff.  Herb, Griff and I have our 6-month check-up/cleaning at the dentist today.  Later this week we a team dinner and two days of swimming divisions.  I’ll be working the concession stand at a JV girls basketball game, too.  And, Griffin has the next three days off for mid-winter break.  Good thing since we’re supposed to get 3-6 inches of snow tonight…I’ll have him home to shovel! 😉

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

