2014 Academy Awards

Every year I look forward to the Academy Awards even though usually I haven’t seen most of the movies.  This year was no different.  To be fair, I did see Gravity recently.  But that’s it, no others.

It’s not that I don’t love movies.  I believe I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy watching movies.  I just have an extremely hard time justifying spending $10 to see a movie when I can wait for it to come out on DVD (or Blu-Ray, depending on if the special effects are worth it) and the whole family can see it for a few bucks if rented or the price of two movie tickets if we buy the movie.  Then you add to it that, let’s be real here, you have to be in a certain mood to see most Oscar nominated films.  If you are in the mood for a light-hearted comedy or romance, then chances are you are not going to be watching an Academy Award winning film. 

That being said, it doesn’t take away from my opinions on who should win what and my overall joy in the evening’s festivities.  Generally I’ll start with some red carpet watching.  Not because I want to pick apart dresses and outfits and hair, but because sometimes you see a gem of an interview.  Like this year when Jared Leto walked up as June Squibb was finishing her interview with E! reporter Ryan Seacrest and they started a cute, flirty exchange.  Loved it!

(source: E!)

(source: E!)

I do not want to take away from Jared Leto’s acceptance speech when he won Best Supporting Actor for his role of Rayon in Dallas Buyer’s Club because it was beautiful.  That being said, it was extremely wrong.  I couldn’t believe they didn’t “cue music” to play him off.  I guess being the first award of the night has its benefits.  I’m truly glad they didn’t cut him off and he was able to say all he wanted to say because he wasn’t just prattling off names, he was very well spoken about his family and the issues of the day.  Kudos to him.

That first acceptance speech should have been a clue to how great everyone’s speeches would be through the night.  We got one of the best speech sound bites since Sally Field’s “you really like me” from Lupita Nyong’o when she won for best supporting actress and said, “No matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid.”  She is so inspirational, not only for women of color but for all women.

(source: E!)

(source: E!)

It was really a wonderful night for women.  Katie Blanchett really had some wonderful girl power in her acceptance speech for Best Actress.  Although I think Kate Blanchett is one of the actresses out there today I am NOT a fan of Woody Allen and it took a bit away from what she was saying when she thanked him, but it was still awesome.  (There is a whole diatribe I will not get into right now about if the artistic genius of a person somehow negates the terrible things they do.)

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts and news stories trying to figure out when Matthew McConaughey became a good actor.  This cracks me up.  Was he not a good actor when he did “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days” or “Reign of Fire”?  Of course he was.  Were they Oscar worthy roles?  (Not performances, but roles.)  No.  I seriously doubt the writers of those movies had any thoughts of their movies having Oscar winning performances…that’s not why they were made.  You give a good actor a good role and magic happens.  He didn’t turn into a butterfly overnight.  He has tons of experience and is very humble.  When he won for Best Actor, you could see the joy on his face.  His true nature not only came through during his acceptance speech, but also earlier when he was presenting with Kim Novak of “Vertigo” fame.  He was patient and kind.  He helped and prodded her the whole time they were on stage.  It was great to see a big star be such a gentleman, especially because it didn’t seem fake.  I guess that’s the thing.  No matter what he’s doing, McConaughey is a sincere person and I love that.

Matthew-McConaughey-Oscar-Acceptance-Speech-Video[1]With all of these deep and serious speeches, it was a breath of fresh air when Robert Lopez and his wife Kristen Anderson-Lopez won the Oscar for Best Original Song for “Let it Go” from the animated movie “Frozen”.  The way they riffed off each other was obviously planned, but oh-so-cute.  They were over the moon, and with good reason.  The win put Robert into the exclusive EGOT club.  He has now won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony.  Proof of his talent for sure!

Is it strange that one of my favorite parts of any award show is the “In Memoriam” portion of the show?  Morbid, right?  I enjoy the nostalgic feelings seeing these great artists bring up in me.  This year there are a couple of things that made that experience even better.  They added a movie credit to each picture and name so those that aren’t in the know would realize the importance of the person being shown.  Plus, they had Bette Midler perform.  I love, love, love Bette Midler!

This post is getting way longer than I had intended, so I’m just going to list a few other things that I loved about the Academy Awards this year:

  • Bill Murray’s tie
(source: GQ)

(source: GQ)

  • The joy Laura Dern got every time anyone made her dad the butt of a joke
  • Jim Carrey as a presenter, he was hilarious!
  • How much of a good sport everyone seemed to be throughout the night
  • What was up with John Travolta?  At first I felt bad for Idina Menzel, but then she became the most famous singer in the world after his flub.  And she seems to be a great sport about it all.
  • Pizza for the stars.  Until I saw Ellen’s show on Monday I thought that must have been planned.  I love it even more since it wasn’t.
  • Most importantly…this selfie.  Best picture EVER!
(source: @TheEllenShow/Twitter)

(source: @TheEllenShow/Twitter)

Did you have a favorite moment of the night?

 

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

