Monday Mash-Up #9

This week was so much better now that I’m healthy again.  One of the many things making me happy lately.  Other things making me happy or just of interest…

  • Spring Break officially started for Griffin on Friday afternoon.  That means I get to sleep in later than 5 am this week!  Woot!
  • The last little bit of stubborn snow that was hanging out in my backyard where it’s shady most of the day has finally disappeared.  Hip hip HOORAY!!!!
  • I discovered that our Blu-Ray player in our living room has a fitness app so I’ve been using that to slowly get myself into a routine.  (I may do a post on this later, there’s too much info to put in a small blurb.)  This led me to a fitness app for my smart phone called Noom where I can log my meals and it keeps track of calories.  Well, when driving my mother-in-law home last week I made a ghastly discovery.  It is absolutely possible to drink all of your calories for the day and it isn’t even hard!  I had coffee before we left at home.  When we were about an hour from her place I got a caramel mocha.  Heading out of town after dropping her off I got a Shamrock Shake.  (I knew it was calorie laden, but I hadn’t had one yet this year and figured it was a good time.)  I found myself fighting to stay awake when I was about 45 minutes from home so got an iced caramel mocha (that I didn’t even finish because it was made too sweet).  That all added up to over 1500 calories!  What!?!  Certainly an eye opener.

20140327_065120

  • That Noom app also uses your phone as a pedometer.  Wow!  It’s not easy to get in your steps for the day.  What’s nice is it starts you easy by giving you a 2000 step goal, then it ups the goal daily by just a little bit.  If you don’t reach your goal (I didn’t the day I drove up north) it drops your goal back down to the previous days’ goal.  I’m digging it.
  • The Mom & Dad’s Club at the high school finally got the proposal for a donation to purchase the swim teams a new time board (ours only shows one lane at a time and we have six lanes) and new touch pads.  It passed!  Yay!  Next season will be awesome with the new board that will be easy to read and more accurate.
  • We had Griffin’s conferences and his teachers were so impressed with him.  He’s getting straight A’s right now!  What a change from practically flunking out of school last year.  Between some added maturity on his part and the type and dosage of medication for his ADD, he’s doing great things.  It’s almost scary to think that he was afraid to try medication again (he had a bad experience with a different type a few years back).  He’s not bringing home any more homework this year than he did last year, he’s just retaining and hearing what the teachers are saying during lectures now.  It’s awesome!
  • Mmmmm!  If you follow me on Instagram you probably saw that a Menchie’s finally opened close to home.  My maiden trip I got cheesecake froyo with fresh strawberries, kiwi and pineapple, a sprinkle of granola and a little squirt of marshmallow topping.  So, so, so good!

IMG_20140404_114618

Other bits from On The Line:

  • The good old days, I miss ‘em.
  • Speaking of childhood, this guy sings Rainbow Connection in all different Muppet voices.  Really cool.
  • There really is nothing like a sibling (or three, in my case).
  • These cat facts cracked me up!  Number 15 is definitely our Reese.  Too funny!
  • Finally, how cool is this?  Kudos to Honey Maid for fighting hatred with love instead of more hatred.

 

Favorite Podcast of the Week:

A lot of the podcasts I listen to are from the How Stuff Works family.  I love Tracy and Holly from Stuff You Missed in History Class.  This week I listened to their podcast “Elizabeth Blackwell, America’s First Female M.D.” and found it inspiring.  More so because of Ms. Blackwell’s determination in EVERYTHING she did.  What a great role model for you women today.

Favorite Blog Post of the Week:

Design Mom Gabriel Blair gives a fascinating look at French Food Habits.  And she is in the know as she lived there recently with her husband and kids.

Books I finished this week:

18044439[1] 18721234[1]

19743574[1]21432269[1]

As you can maybe tell, I didn’t really do much on my re-read this week.  On the up side, I got more reading done this week.  Downside, it’s going to take me forever to re-read the darn book!

On tap this week:

I was such a nice mom and scheduled a doctor appointment for Griffin during his Spring Break.  He has to go about every 6 months while on the meds.  I volunteered to be on the committee to pick the Mom & Dad’s Club Scholarships winners so I’ll also be reading essays this week.  Other than that, I’m hoping to have a pretty relaxed week. 

Happy Easter!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

