Back in the Saddle

I never wanted to be one of those complaining bloggers.  I honestly don’t intend to start now either.  I just want to let you know where I’ve been, what’s been up around here and that I’m trying my darndest to get back in the saddle.

The first weekend in May I had a little health problem.  That sounds serious, but it wasn’t.  It just HURT LIKE HELL!  Believe me, if I tell you what my problem was you will be plugging your ears and screaming TMI over and over.  This issue knocked me on my ass for almost a week…laying on the couch and not moving unless I had to for days on end.  Once I was back on my feet it was still slow going.  I did not get back to 100% until the end of last week.  Of course, by then, I had tons of crap to catch up on around the house.  Now, that’s all I’m going to say about the actual reason I’ve been MIA.  What’s next is the backlash it has caused.

I was so proud of the exercise and healthier eating habit I had been getting into throughout the month of April.  I was on a roll baby!  Not so much anymore.  I am seriously bummed and even a bit mad at myself.  I’m not mad about when I physically could not get some exercising in, but I haven’t worked out since I got better either.  I am trying to dig deep to find that motivation again.  Luckily, our last cold snap has ended and we got our Spring-like weather back this weekend so I’ve been doing tons in the yard and garden the last couple of days.  So I haven’t been totally sedentary, but still.

If anyone has some ideas that may light the fire under my butt, please let me know.  I’m feeling down on myself but also overwhelmed.  My mother-in-law got here yesterday and her shoulder surgery is tomorrow.  The hospital is about 30-45 minutes away depending on traffic.  So the next few days will be spent driving back and forth so as not to leave her alone too much.  Hopefully she’ll get discharged Friday or Saturday.  Then a week from today she starts physical therapy…again, about 45 minutes away.  So three days a week driving her to PT, sitting around for the hour she’s in there, driving home.  I’m not complaining about doing it, just pointing out the time-suck I have coming up soon.  That’s where the overwhelmed feeling comes in when I think of adding exercise back into my routine.

Now I have to go put my blueberry bushes into the ground between rain storms so I’m going to dash.  I’ll be back soon with garden pics, a recap of book club and more.  In the meantime, I leave you with this picture.  For no particular reason…it just cracked me up!

1900052_566750936757250_7736749371333766903_n[1]

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

