Monday Mash-Up #13

First and foremost, I would like to take a moment to give a refresher course on Memorial Day.  Believe it or not, there are many Americans who are not quite sure what this holiday is all about.  For those who aren’t so sure, this website is a great (yet quick) history lesson on the day.  In short, it is a day set aside to remember the men and women who have died while serving our country.  This is different from Veteran’s Day yet many people think today is about vets.  In my opinion, vets don’t get enough recognition so I have no problem if you thank a vet today.

Alrighty, on to the lists.  With all my time away I have to make sure this doesn’t get too long!

  • I have been meaning to find out if you all know that they are replaying Battle of the Network Stars on ESPN Classic.  Oh! My!  It’s insane!  I remember watching this as a little girl, but it just didn’t seem as funny back then.  For you youngens who don’t know what I’m talking about, somehow the powers-that-be at ABC got NBC and CBS to agree to allow their top talent to compete in a field day type (think dunk tank, relay races, tug-of war) of game show every 6 months or so.  It is hilarious to watch now.  Scott Baio, Mr. T, Heather Locklear!  The play by play is done by Howard Cosell.  Yes.  THE Howard Cosell.  My kids even find it very entertaining, maybe because the hubs and I are cracking up through the whole thing.  You must check it out. (By the way, Marc Harmon was a BEAST…he won everything when he played!)
  • As usual, I have some bragging to do.  Griffin recently had his “Dining In” with JROTC.  Basically, it’s a formal dinner where they have the kids act as they would (should) in a formal situation.  The boys pull the chairs out for the ladies, pour their drinks, etc.  They also give out some of the medals and such that night.  It’s a bit unfortunate because the parents are not invited to this event.  Luckily, one of the other moms snuck in at the end and caught this candid shot (that’s my boy in the middle) that I absolutely love, blurriness and all.  So Griffin got the Military Order of World Wars Award of Merit.  I’ve never seen this one before so I think he may be the only one who has received this honor in recent years.  You can see it hanging on his chest pocket in the picture below.  I am one proud mama!  He has risen to the challenge of overcoming many obstacles to bring his grades up and maintain them.  In fact, he has gone above and beyond.

IMG_1808

  • Last personal note before sharing other interests.  My mother-in-law had surgery on her shoulder last Wednesday.  All went well and she is recuperating at our house.  She starts therapy this coming Wednesday so I’ll be driving her to that 3 times a week until she’s cleared to drive herself (probably about a month).  Therapy is 30 minutes away in good traffic, so this is going to keep me busy.  I’m looking at it as an hour to read without feeling guilty I’m not doing household chores 3 times a week!  Yay! 

Other bits from On the Line:

  • One of the girls from my book club shared this.  Number 9 is so true.  We were trying to figure out how long we’ve been meeting and we think it’s been 6 years, but we’re not sure.  It may be longer!  Time sure does fly.
  • While I’m sharing lists, here’s another for Moms of Boys.  So spot on!
  • And yet another list.  So you know that most Michigan stereotypes are true.  I’m going to give you some personal feedback here.  #1 Why wouldn’t we?  It’s so easy!  #2 My brother did in my car, does that count?  #3 I once had an OSU alum boss and I decorated his office in maize and blue streamers and balloons for his birthday  #4 The list of relative is too long to list  #5 If you don’t know how to play, you must learn.  #6 I send gift packs of Better Made to my brother-in-law in California because they truly are the best!  #7 I’m not personally, again the list of relatives is too long  #8 I actually do get infuriated  #9 I never knew this was odd until I moved out of state when I was 18.  I never broke the habit in the 10 years of living out of state.  #10 Truly some of the most beautiful places I have seen are places in Michigan in the winter…and spring, and summer, and fall.
  • This list of what people search for on Google by state seems spot on for Michigan.  Makes me wonder if that means it’s accurate for the rest of the nation.

google-search-map2

  •  Let’s wrap the links up with another Outlander video:

Favorite Podcast of the Week:

Another one from the women at Stuff Mom Never Told You.  Since I’ve “been there done that” and think they did a great job covering the topic (for modern day, back in my day 20 years ago we didn’t have email, Skype, cell phones, etc.  Maybe I’ll tell you about it some day) of military spouses.

Favorite Blog of the Week:

Have you had the great luck to stumble upon Eli McCann’s blog It Just Gets Stranger?  If not, please check it out.  He is funny and insightful and makes me laugh regularly.  What’s not to love?  The post I enjoyed this week was about turning thirty.  I know, I know…I’m a full decade older than that.  But I still found it very interesting and I think people of all ages can get something from the post.  If you want to see the funny I mentioned above, check out this old post and prepare to laugh!  Twice up the barrel, once down the side.

Books I Finished This Week:

16033387[1]18044463[1]   12970552[1]

6593768[1]17332383[1]   21937709[1]

8343758[1]

18246273[1]   6105886[1]   18217838[1]

Okay, I admit…more like books I read last month.  Hey, I haven’t done this in a while.

On tap for this week:

So much to do, so little time.  Therapy for MIL 2x, a doctor appointment for her another day, dinner to see my cousin who decided to stay in the UP to work on campus during his college summer break, Griffin is doing Relay for Life with JROTC this weekend, lots more gardening to do.  The list just goes on and on and on…

Now that the days have been lengthening and warming up, have you found your personal schedule to be packed?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

