Monthly Mash-Up #4 (September 2014)

Holy Moly! What a whirlwind September was.  As was the case with most of the nation, Griffin went back to school.  His Junior year, how time flies.  So let’s just get right to it…

  • I’m not sure if I mentioned before, but Griffin was officially made Company Commander in JROTC. Then, on Parents Night at the school, he got a promotion and we had a very informal pinning ceremony in the hall.
20140918_174330

Luckily they had another cadet taking pictures with a non-phone camera because obviously I’m terrible at getting clear pictures when I’m emotional.

  • In addition to his added duties with being Company Commander, Griffin has been doing Color Guard at all of the home football games this year. This wasn’t really a planned thing, but he works Saturday evenings so he’s one of the few that know proper procedure that doesn’t work during game time. Plus, he’s now part of Honor Guard. So he has to be at school for drill by 6am and he stays after for about 2 hours every day for Honor Guard. Busy kid!

10701954_10204854807192647_3838653525662711800_n

  • I had this grand idea to do a bunch of canning this year. I got some supplies and bought this book (which is excellent, by the way) and discovered that using a glass top stove is discouraged with canning. Apparantly there is a chance of cracking the top. I had already bought a few pounds of concord grapes so I decided I’d at least make some grape jam and my cocktail dill tomatoes. I must say, my first time making grape jam (besides when I was about 8 with my mom) was a success. Yummy! Now to save up enough money for a new range. The one I have was here when we bought the house, somewhat new at that time. Meaning, it’s probably about 15 years old and on its last legs anyway.
Look at the beautiful color on that grape jam, I love it!

Look at the beautiful color on that grape jam, I love it!

  • My husband got it in his head that he’s going to take Griffin bow hunting this year. Never mind the fact that neither of them have ever been hunting or had a bow. Key word “had” since they have bows now. **sigh** We took Griffin to an archery range at a nearby state park last Sunday and they both tried their bows out. I think they both did really well for first-timers! Herb got a crossbow and Griffin has a regular bow (can you tell I’m up on the jargon, I have no idea if there’s a specific name for these bows). After spending time practicing, we headed over to the beach that is at the park to have some lunch. I love this time of year with the changing colors.
First time using his bow

First time using his bow

The colors are coming!

The colors are coming!

He may be 16, but he can still get worn out and fall asleep in the car.

He may be 16, but he can still get worn out and fall asleep in the car.

  • I know I’ve totally dropped the ball when it’s come to book club. Unfortunately, I haven’t been to the last two (I’ve never missed two in a row!) so don’t have a lot of feedback for you. I’ll try to get back on track with that. The next book is The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein and we’ll be meeting on Sunday, October 26. So if you want to read along I should be back within a couple of days of that with a recap of our meeting.

Other bits from On the Line:

  • My boys have always loved Legos, especially Griffin. I’ve always enjoyed the creations they’ve come up with.  This gallery of Lego creations is amazing and far beyond a childhood toy.
  • When I lived in California people often said I have a Michigan accent. This article explains my accent better than any other I’ve read before. It even pointed out some habits I have that I never realized were Michigan-based.
  • Hidden gems like this intrigue me to no end.
  • I read a lot of YA books and, while this video made me laugh, I could relate to most of it…

 

Favorite Podcast of the Month:

It’s no secret how much I love the Outlander book series by Diana Gabaldon and how much I was looking forward to the Starz series. I have not been disappointed by the television adaptation.  Plus, I found this little podcast gem, Outlander: The Official Podcast.  It is basically a step-by-step of each episode by the Executive Producer, Ronald D. Moore and his wife, Terry (who happens to be the costume designer).  I’m not citing a particular episode here, I think they’re all super interesting.

Favorite Blog Post of the Month:

I actually read this post a while back but forgot to include it in my last roundup. If you want proof that there are good people in this world, take a look at the Momastery site before Christmas when people from all over help strangers in need.  What spoke to me about this particular post was this line, “People who need help sometimes look a lot like people who don’t need help.” Such true words! I strongly recommend you check out this blog and not just the one post.  But please, if you’re not looking to add another blog to your feed, at least check out this post.

Books I Finished Last Month:

9717320

9712517     8163411

17189502

18302261    10364746

22725631

19410534    17204568

1576511323258101

On Tap for This Month:

My sister, niece and brother-in-law are visiting from Arizona for the week and we have my brother’s reception on Saturday. It should be a lot of fun getting some sister time in! Plus, October is Homecoming month for our high school so we will be busy with float building and the sort pretty soon here.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

