What I’m Watching – Sunday (TV Review)

I’m sure I’ve mentioned here before that I watch FAR too much television. This time of year my DVR is on overload and I sit on my tush an excessive amount while the hubs and I try to figure out what new shows are going to be keepers and we delight in old favorites coming back.  Since a large portion of the shows have started, I decided to let you in on what we’re watching (and not watching) around here.

Sunday has picked up in the last few years for us. Back in the day, we used to watch The Simpsons and the whole Fox lineup.  We will still watch a lot of those shows…the boys especially watch a lot of Futerama and Family Guy on Netflix.  We just realized that those shows, to us, aren’t the type you have to watch right away.  No concerns of spoilers being heard around the water cooler, so to speak.  We will watch reruns in syndication or, as I mentioned, on Netflix if we’re in the mood.

But speaking of Fox, they moved one of our favorite comedy shows to Sunday nights this year. Brooklyn Nine-Nine starring Andy Samberg with a hilarious ensemble cast to back him up.  I have to say, Andre Braugher has got to be the favorite of both of us.  His dry delivery and straight man persona are so funny.  I really never knew he had it in him.

Brooklyn nine nine

Starting this week is a new sitcom, Mulaney. This seems to be a vehicle for Martin Short which worries me in some ways.  As much as I love his comedic genious, a sitcom isn’t always the right fit for these beloved iconic comedians.  BUT!  I also have some high hopes.  I think Short was smart in the sitcom he picked to be a part of since he is not the “star” of the show.  That would be John Mulaney, more of an up and comer with some experience but not the big name.  Also, with an ensemble cast that includes Elliott Gould, you ensure Short will not overpower the rest of the cast.  I’m looking forward to checking it out tonight.

mulaney-tv-show-celeb

Of course, in another week, we will be in front of the television watching The Walking Dead on AMC. And there’s the added bonus of The Talking Dead with Chris Hardwick (aka The Nerdist) to follow.  We’ve been fans of Hardwick for years.  With all of the things that man is up to, he still comes across as a fan more than a star himself.  I love humble celebrities.  Josh and Griffin read a lot of the Walking Dead graphic novels and Josh has this issue with movies/tv shows not following books so generally won’t watch them.  Sure the book is usually better, but when they turn it into a tv show, where they can expand the story, I usually find they do a good job.  I haven’t read any of The Walking Dead myself, but I can attest that it’s a great show.  If you haven’t started watching this show yet, I would suggest starting from the beginning on Netflix.  Trust me, it’s worth the time.

the-walking-dead-season-5-art

As for the shows on ABC, we used to watch all of them and have given them all up. For some reason, the beginning of last season of Once Upon A Time was extremely dull to us and we gradually stopped watching.  As for Resurrection, it started off strong last year and we watched the first half of the season.  Unfortunately, our DVR was full and missed recording an episode.  We never got around to finding it online to watch and before we knew it, we realized we didn’t really miss the show.  From what I’ve seen of commercials and previews, I’m sure it’s a great show.  We just watch too many shows and have to make cuts somewhere.  That’s kind of what happened to Revenge.  It was too “soapy” for Herb so it was one I watched on my own.  Again, I got behind on watching and realized I wasn’t dying to know what happened next so figured it was time to say goodbye.  I know a lot of people who love that show though.  If you  like soapy murder mystery love stories, check it out for sure!

Wondering about CBS and The Good Wife? See above regarding Ressurection and Revenge.  Same thing.  I hear great things, but courtroom dramas are generally not my thing unless there is a lot of humor involved.

So that’s what we’re watching on Sundays around here. How about you?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What I’m Watching – Sunday (TV Review)

  1. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Monday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Tuesday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  3. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Wednesday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  4. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Thursday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  5. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Friday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  6. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Saturday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  7. Pingback: Mulaney – TV Review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

