What I’m Watching – Monday (TV Review)

Are you shocked and awed? Two posts two days in a row?  Who is this blogger and what has she done with me?

I hope you enjoyed my first post in the What I’m Watching series. I’m actually enjoying writing them.  It’s kind of reminding me of why I watch certain shows and giving me pause on others…are they worth my time still?  Hmmm.  Well, on to Monday!

This is the first season I’m actually watching Dancing With the Stars on ABC…much to my husband’s chagrin. Honestly, I love to watch dancing.  So You Think You Can Dance is one of my favorite shows.  There has always been something about DWTS that has put me off.  Part of it is knowing it’s such a popularity contest, and some of the “celebrities” I’ve never even heard of!  Yes, shows like SYTYCD are also, in some ways, popularity contests and not soley based on talent.  But the premise is a bit different as the judges on SYTYCD have the final say of who is going home in the beginning.  I started watching DWTS because of Allison Holker, who was on Season 2 of SYTYCD.  I am a huge fan of her and her husband Steven “tWitch” Boss.  There are a lot of SYTYCD alumni on DWTS, but this is the first time it’s prompted me to start watching the show regularly.  I must say, I’m pretty disappointed.  It is an even bigger popularity contest than I expected!  The judges seem to judge the celebrities on what they expect their ability to be, not on how well they actually did overall.  For example, they gave Michael Waltrip all 7’s even though it wasn’t that great…it was good for him though.  Then they give Lea Thompson a 7 and three 8’s even though she was so much better than him.  Even though they didn’t come out and say it, you know it’s because they expect more from her.  But how is that fair?  I could go on and on about my disappointment in the scoring/judging but I won’t.  I guess they’re doing something right since I’m still watching.  But it’s almost like a train wreck that I just can’t turn away from.  I don’t know if this will stay on my viewing schedule for more than one season.

Allison Holker & Jonathan Bennett  (source: eonline)

Allison Holker & Jonathan Bennett (source: eonline)

CBS seems to be our main channel for Mondays. We have old and new going on with The Big Bang Theory and Scorpion.  If you somehow live under a rock and have never heard of Big Bang, it’s a sitcom with a wonderfully funny ensemble cast.  You have the “nerds” who all work at the university in different scientific capacities…and Penny.  The beautiful, non-geeky, neighbor girl who (spoiler) ends up in love with one of the nerds.  With a mom who loves Star Trek, a husband and sons who love Star Wars, sons who read comics and play D&D and Magic the Gathering and hang out in comic book stores, this show speaks to me.  But you don’t have to be a “geek” or be raising them to appreciate the humor.

the-big-bang-05

On the other side of the nerd/geek coin is the drama Scorpion. We’re only a few episodes in and the hubs and I both really like this one.  You have a small band of geniuses, a government agent that “discovered” Walter aka Scorpion when he was a wee lad just trying to print some space shuttle specs from NASA to hang on his wall as a poster, and the average waitress/single mom just trying to understand her withdrawn little boy.  Of course, Walter and friends immediately realize the son is a genius like them and ask her to join their group to help keep them empathetic (something they don’t always understand with their brains going a zillion miles an hour) while they help her to understand her son and nurture his brain.  So far it’s had a great mix of drama, humor and action.  I hope it can keep going that way.

scorpion-cbs-05-550x203

This is the sophomore season for Sleepy Hollow on Fox and I’m not sure if it’s going to be able to get the season one momentum back. We loved this show last year, but I honestly think the fact that Katrina is not just a memory for Ichabod anymore is a detriment to the dynamics of the cast.  I love that Ichabod Crane and Abbie Mills are played as buddies, partners even.  Yes, I sometimes see/feel a spark between them.  Usually it seems more of a deep love out of friendship though.  I am enjoying the man and woman as friends scenario.  Let me say that I adore John Noble…but he will always be Walter Bishop to me.  It’s really hard for me to wrap my head around his character here and it just makes me miss Fringe.  So, as you can see, there’s good and bad with this one.  An added bonus, no matter your preference there is definitely eye candy.  Tom Mison (Crane) and Nicole Beharie (Mills) are extremely attractive human beings!

sleepy-hollow

I would have to say that The Blacklist on NBC has to be one of my husband’s favorite dramas, if not his favorite. He asked me on Wednesday of last week when it was going to be on because that’s what he wanted to watch.  Sorry babe, you have quite a few more days, lol.  It’s also at the top of my list.  The fact that James Spader was not nominated for an Emmy for his portrayal of Raymond “Red” Reddington is a crime.  He was at least nominated for a Golden Globe, but this man deserves to WIN.  He plays Red perfectly.  He’s funny and sardonic and cool and smart and, surprisingly enough, he has a soft spot in his heart for certain people.  The real genius of the casting, though, is in the side characters.  Yes, the supporting characters from the FBI are all wonderful actors.  But what I mean is the bad guys.  Some of them are only in one episode.  Some have storylines with a longer arc.  Currently, Peter Stomare has a significant storyline going on in the show and he’s wonderful.  Alan Alda has even done a few episodes.  C’mon, how can you pass this up?  The first season is currently on Netflix and I strongly urge you to give it a go.

The Blacklist

There are a couple that haven’t yet started that I’m looking forward to…Jane the Virgin starts on the CW next week. Yep, it’s what it sounds like.  A 20-something virgin gets accidently inseminated.  It could go either way depending on how it’s handled.  We shall see.  Then there is Ascension on SyFy.  They are touting it as a “limited series event”, which I’m taking to mean it already has a set amount of episodes and then it’s over.  It starts on November 24 so we have some time until it starts.  Science fiction, the 60’s space program, a somewhat dystopian society; what more could I ask for?

As for the glaring omissions, here are my thoughts. Gotham:  for a geeky girl I’m not a huge fan of Batman.  Josh and Herb are fans, but agreed with me that Gotham without Batman is most likely more depressing than Gotham with Batman.  And from the previews it seems they are messing with timelines and the story a bit too much for our tastes.  Castle:  Unfortunately, we never started watching this when it started 7 years ago although it seems like a show that we’d like and I have been in lust with Nathan Fillion since he was on One Life to Live.  One of these days I’ll see if it’s on Netflix to catch up.  The Voice:  I’m not one for the singing shows.  I’m not sure why, they’re just not my thing.

That’s our Monday in a nutshell (Help! I’m in a nutshell!  How did I get in this bloody great big nutshell? Quick, name that movie!)  What’s playing on your screen?

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’m Watching – Monday (TV Review)

  1. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Tuesday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Wednesday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  3. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Thursday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  4. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Friday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  5. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Saturday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

