What I’m Watching – Thursday (TV Review)

After a busy couple of TV days, it’s time to slow down a bit. Not a lot, just a little.  There’s still plenty of good television on Thursday nights.

I’m going to start by talking about Gracepoint on Fox. If you don’t know, Gracepoint is what I would consider a remake of Broadchurch that ran on BBC America last year.  There are a limited number of episodes, and as far as I can tell it will stay that way.  The show is about the investigation into the murder of a young boy in a small coastal town.  David Tennant (aka the 10th Doctor) plays the lead investigator and outsider in both versions.  Herb wasn’t crazy about Broadchurch so I finished off the season myself.  It was very dark.  Already, Gracepoint seems to have a vibe that doesn’t instantly spiral me into a depression like its predecessor did.  Don’t get me wrong, I thought the story was superb!  That’s why I’m giving Gracepoint a go.  Well, that and David Tennant.

GracepointOfficicalWebsite

Eleven seasons in and I’m still watching Grey’s Anatomy on ABC. There have been many highs and lows with this show.  I really miss Lexie and Mark and George.  I also have never been a fan of Meredith Grey herself.  But Bailey, Owen, Jackson and Alex keep me coming back for more.  Not Herb, though.  He can’t stand this show.  I usually watch it in the morning after he leaves for work, lol.

Early on we loved the show Haven on Syfy. Last year’s twists and turns ended up boring Herb and he gave up on the show.  I must admit, it almost lost me, too.  But I hung in there and so far I’m liking this season more than last.  If you haven’t seen this show, I strongly recommend watching at least the first two seasons.  The jury’s still out on if the rest is worth watching.

showposterWe aren’t currently watching CBS, but October 30 will change that. First, a new sitcom will be debuting.  The McCarthy’s seems like it will be a fun show.  I’ve been a fan of Laurie Metcalf from back in her Roseanne days…I always felt she wasn’t featured enough on that show.  She plays the matriarch of a large brood of grown children.  It seems they’ll be playing up the stereotypical Irish-Catholic loud, sports crazed, mom run trope.  Personally, I always find that fun.

Returning for its third season on the same night is Elementary. We love this show!  Jonny Lee Miller is the perfect smartass Sherlock to Lucy Liu’s compassionate Watson.  So much fun yet still a very intelligent show.  I’m just on edge waiting for them to hook up.

elementary_cbs

Two new sitcoms on NBC lead up to one of the best shows EVER on television. We checked out Bad Judge and A to Z both last week.  Bad Judge may survive since it stars Kate Walsh and she turns all she touches to gold.  I found some of the raunch was played for shock value and wasn’t really needed.  The more personal touches are what will keep this show going.  As for A to Z, I liked it so much more than I had thought I would from the previews.  It was a lot sweeter than I anticipated, but not in a sickly sweet way.  My concern is the fact that they give us exacts on how long this relationship lasts.  Always risky with any television show.

I believe I made the bold claim that one of the best shows ever on TV is on NBC on Thursdays. But I stand by that statement because it’s true.  This will be the final season of Parenthood and I’m heartbroken.  This show never fails to make me laugh, cry and think every single week.  A stellar cast holds it all together.  Without them the sweet moments could easily be cheesy, the hard times could be boring or the sentimental moments could turn to fluff.  In the hands of these actors there is no chance of any of that happening.  In this case, if you haven’t seen this show, I am going to INSIST you put some time aside this winter to watch from the beginning so you can watch the bittersweet end with the rest of us.

1799962_10152339573522483_718746517048627738_o

Trust me, I know that ABC has some stellar shows that I’m not watching on Thursday nights. I hear great things about both Scandal and How to Get Away With Murder.  It has just been a case of having to draw the line somewhere.  Since neither show is really in Herb’s wheelhouse we never watched either.  Over on Fox, Bones is one of those shows that I would love to watch and will hopefully catch up with some day.

So, have I convinced you that I watch too much TV yet? If not, there are still two more days left!

In case you missed them:

What I watched – Sunday

What I watched – Monday

What I watched – Tuesday

What I watched – Wednesday

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’m Watching – Thursday (TV Review)

  1. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Friday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

  2. Pingback: What I’m Watching – Saturday (TV Review) | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

