What I’m Watching – Saturday (TV Review)

Well, we made it. We’re on the last day of our TV week.  What’s that?  You say there’s nothing on television on a Saturday night?  Let me prove you wrong!

Doctor-who-logo-nine

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you may have figured out by now that Griffin and I are obsessed with Doctor Who. So although the seasons are not too long and chopped in two so it’s not on all the time, when it is playing new episodes it is must see on BBC America. If you don’t get BBC America, you can at least watch the previous seasons on Netflix. As much as Herb and I aren’t ones to be gallivanting out on a Saturday night, we generally don’t get to watch this when it’s actually on.  Griffin is usually at work and it is the last show my teenage son still wants to sit and watch with us.  So we try to watch on Sunday afternoon.  You do not have to go all the way back to the 60’s to watch this show.  In fact, you could very well start on the current season.  But to fully understand what all the hoopla is about and to truly appreciate the Doctor Who world, I would strongly recommend starting from when they restarted the series in 2006 with the 9th Doctor.  And watch that whole season and at least the first two episodes of the next season before deciding if it’s for you.  Trust me on this.  I know some people who weren’t huge fans of the 9th Doctor and were so glad they kept at it through his season.

peter-capaldi-doctor-who

To show you how much we appreciate the show around here, I’m going to show you some old pictures of the boys.  Josh was never one for the traditional high school life. I actually made him go to Homecoming and Prom his Senior year because I didn’t want him to ever regret not going to such things.  Since he had to go he decided to have fun with it and dressed as the 10th Doctor for Prom.  That same year was Griffin’s 8th Grade formal dance and he decided to go as the 11th Doctor.  Ahhh, I love my nerdy family!

Josh & David Tennant as the 10th Doctor

Josh & David Tennant as the 10th Doctor

 

Griffin and Matt Smith as the 11th Doctor

Griffin and Matt Smith as the 11th Doctor

One last show for a Saturday night is not currently playing. I’ve mentioned it numerous times before and it’s finally a reality.  The Starz adaptation of one of my favorite books, Outlander, to a television show is some phenomenal Saturday night TV.  It’s on its midseason hiatus, but it will return in April with new episodes.  If you haven’t checked this one out yet, that gives you plenty of time to catch up.  Even Herb is enjoying the show, so don’t think it’s only for the ladies.

Outlander002

To wrap up, I realize with all the shows I listed I very rarely (if at all) gave an actual review. I will try to give reviews of the new shows that hadn’t started at the time of my posts and go from there.  Just know that if we’re watching it and it’s not in its first season, we think it’s worth your time.

What are your favorite shows old and new? Any recommendations I haven’t listed?

In case you missed them:

What I’m Watching – Sunday

What I’m Watching – Monday

What I’m Watching – Tuesday

What I’m Watching – Wednesday

What I’m Watching – Thursday

What I’m Watching – Friday

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

