Monthly Mash-Up #5 (October 2014)

October was another super busy month. To be honest, I don’t know when we won’t have a busy month around here.  Maybe in July?  I can always hope!  This is actually the first year we didn’t give out candy on Halloween.  We had to be at the school by 6am today and have a long day ahead of us so we decided, since the boys no longer go trick or treating and it was super cold and rainy, to keep the house dark this year.  I hope you all were able to get out and enjoy your Halloween though!

  • We started off the month with a visit from my older sister, Gina, and her husband and daughter. We mostly just hung around at my house and caught up. You may remember that Grace and Gina visited in June from Arizona, but I miss seeing them more often like when they lived 2 miles away. We ended up going to Yate’s Cider Mill one of the days and took a nice walk before enjoying some fresh, warm donuts and apple cider. One of my favorite things about fall!

PicMonkey Collage

  • The highlight of the visit was our brother, Tony, having a reception to celebrate his marriage to Kristina. It was a wonderful backyard barbeque. Nice and relaxed and intimate. It ended up being one of the coldest days so far, but they had firepits and heaters set up around the yard and garage. And, although immediate family was privy to the news, they made a very special announcement. They’re going to have a baby! I’m beyond happy. My little sister is due with her first any day and now another little one in the family in May.

20141004_174933

Joel was making everyone do shots with him, this was the 3rd shot my mom EVER had in her life!

Joel was making everyone do shots with him, this was the 3rd shot my mom EVER had in her life!

  • Did anyone see the blood moon/lunar eclipse early in October.  One of the bonuses of having to get up early during the week, I was already up during our peak viewing time.  Unfortunately, the moon quickly set behind some houses in our neighborhood so I only got a few pics.

DSC03129

  • A couple new-to-me things I tried this month I want to share with you guys. (This is NOT a sponsored post, just some things I really enjoyed I want to tell you about.)
Like a peppermint mocha in solid form, soooo good!

Like a peppermint mocha in solid form, soooo good!

 

If you like Taco Bell's Doritios shells you'll love these.  Bonus, they're in the stand & stuff style so no falling over.

  • Homecoming! The week leading up to Homecoming is always super busy with float meetings on top of the regular homework and extracurricular activities. Due to drill competition season starting (first competition is today!) Griffin is at school for drill practice at 6am and stays after until at least 4:30, sometimes later, for honor guard practice. That’s a long time to be at school! We only spent about 2 hours each time we went to the “float house” because he was exhausted. But the Junior float ended up looking awesome…although the Seniors (bottom right pic) won the competition. I may be biased, but I like Headless Horseman better.

PicMonkey Collage2

  • Our huge kitty Reese (like the peanut butter cup) decided he wanted to sleep in my laundry basket and I could not get him out. I even tipped it on its side and he was staying put. But he’s so cute I couldn’t get mad at him.

PicMonkey Collage3

Other bits from On the Line:

  • Do you watch Parks and Recreation? I love that show. I especially love Ron Swanson, man of wisdom.
  • I know this video has gone viral and you most likely already saw it, but if it gives even one woman some perspective on why we’re all special it’s worth posting again.
  • While we’re on the subject of body image, these pictures of women of the same weight is mind blowing! It’s just a number, ladies.
  • I am so excited there is a new Marcel the Shell video! I love these! Enjoy…

Favorite Podcast of the Month:

I adore the Radio Lab podcast and this one is a doozy. First it made me cry, then it inspired me and made me smile.  I hope you like it as much as I did.  These parents went above and beyond and it paid off big time.

Favorite Blog Post of the Month:

One of my favorite blogs that is also one of the first I started reading a few years ago is Sweet Tooth Sweet Life.  I love how real its writer, Courtney, is about all aspects of her life.  This post about her breastfeeding journey with her son is wonderful.  I was only able to breastfeed for 3 months with Josh and less than one month with Griffin (the child was born with teeth!) and it was very hard for me to accept that no matter what I tried it just wasn’t going to work for as long as I had hoped.  I appreciate her being real and admitting breastfeeding is not always smooth sailing.  This is an older post, but with my little sis about to give birth it came to mind again.

Books I Finished Last Month:

23279997[1]23084253[1]  20665234[1]

11557016[1]

23221260[1]  13068756[1]

8143210[1]22735288[1]  7876209[1]

23288793[1]

 

 

 

 

On Tap for This Month:

The first drill competition of the school year is today and our school is the host. Go Panthers!

My brother-in-law has been in town and is spending part of his last day in Michigan cheering Griff on. We have another competition in a couple of weeks on the west side of the state.  Just before that Herb and I will be celebrating our 22nd anniversary.  And of course we have Thanksgiving which means time off of work and school for the family.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monthly Mash-Up #5 (October 2014)

  1. Courtney says:

    Thank you so much for linking up to my post, Cheri! I’m so glad you liked it, and I really appreciate you reading! Hope you had a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

