Be Heard!

If you’re anything like me, you are beyond sick of the political commercials.  Especially since most of them are smear campaigns.  He said/she said, he did/she did.  Ugh!  Enough already!

As much as the time leading up to election day can drive me nuts, I love election day itself.  It’s a time to let my voice be heard.  And I can do that quietly and privately or I can shout my opinions from the rooftops.  That is the beauty of living in the United States of America.

Today I walked down my street, breathing in the scent of fall leaves.  My feet crunching through the reds, browns, yellows and oranges.  It’s overcast and on the verge of raining today, there’s a tiny bite to the wind but not too much.  It’s probably one of the last days I can go for such a walk without a hat or gloves.  I walked down to the corner, to the school the sits there.  Usually this school is full of kids under 5 years old.  Their squeals and giggles heard through the halls as they attend day care or preschool.  Today it also serves as a polling location.

There are no men or women with guns posted outside.  There is a man asking me to vote for a particular judge, a woman who wants my school board vote, two young ladies just old enough to vote themselves cuddled in their camp chairs under a blanket asking me to vote for a certain senator.  They’re kind and friendly and hopeful.  I don’t have to fear for my life if I vote for someone they don’t agree with.  This is America!  This is Freedom!

We all have our opinions and we are all entitled to them.  What I feel we are not allowed is a voice to complain if we didn’t get out and vote.  You don’t like the way your state’s funds are being used?  Vote!  You don’t like the directions your local school district is heading?  Vote!  Your opinions on hunting, healthcare, education, infrastructure, etc. are set and strong?  Vote!  If you don’t let your voice be heard what you believe in doesn’t matter.

Maybe we don’t all have it in us to be politicians, teachers or writers.  We all make a difference in our own ways though.  Especially when we vote.

I’ll step off my soap box now and let you get out there and do it!

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Heard!

  1. Pingback: Soapbox Moment | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

