All Before Noon…

DSC03124

I am having one crazy day!  I’m going to give you a rundown of what happened to me today, all before noon.  In fact, all before 10am!

I was supposed to go to Griffin’s school to help Sergeant out with some reorganizing in their supply room.  This is something that should be an ongoing project I’ll be doing with a couple of the kids once Sergaent gives me a rundown of how they have everything set up in there.  Her free period is in the morning so I was there by 8am only to find out I never filled out my volunteer paperwork.  No big deal, but they are supposed to do a background check every year and technically I shouldn’t be there helping out until it’s all cleared through.  So I filled out the paperwork and headed home.

I really needed gas and hadn’t stopped on my way to the school since it was a busy time of day.  I had a couple of things to drop by my mom’s, who lives close to the school, and figured I’d do that and hit the gas station by her house.  Pull up to a pump (in the freezing cold, windchill in single digits!) and the pad is broken so I’d have to pay inside.  I decide to drive around to another pump and hop out and swipe my card.  Message:  Please See Cashier.  Great!  I guess this one isn’t working either.  I head in and have them run the card again.  Denied!  How embarrassing.  I know there is money in the account.  I had an issue with an auto-buy thing on Amazon yesterday but thought it was a fluke and hadn’t had time to look into it yet.  I head home to call the bank and hope I don’t run out of gas.

Now I’m home, jump on the computer to double check our bank account.  All looks good.  I pick up our home phone (yes, we still have a landline) and it sounds like there is a phone off the hook.  We only have two phones hooked up right now so I go check the other phone and it’s hung up properly.  Hmmmm.  I decide to call the home phone from my cell to see if I get a busy signal or if it gives me a message about a problem with the line.  Busy signal.  Grrrrr.  I want to double check myself and go around the house to every phone jack I know of and make sure there isn’t a phone I forgot about somewhere.  Nope.  Just the two.  Okay.  I’ll call the bank from my cell and deal with the phone issue after.

Wait!  Where did I put my cell phone down?  Ugh!  I look all over the house.  I then start to think of every horror movie I’ve ever seen.  Let me tell you, it’s a good thing it was the morning and not late at night.  I was getting freaked out even in the light of day.  No home phone, no cell phone, no gas.  Did a murderer come and take my cell phone off the counter when I went into the basement to check for a landline phone?  It’s so cold out, I won’t get far if I have to run from someone.

Internet is still working so I email my husband and cross my fingers that he’ll see my message.  Call my cell phone so I can find it!!!!

Yep, it’s right next to where I usually sit.  I usually have it on the arm of the couch and I put it on the end table instead.  I feel like crying!  My husband’s first words to me when I answer my cell, “Having a bad day, huh?”  That’s an understatement.

Call the bank.  I had received a letter last week that my card was possibly compromised and it would be monitored but I should also monitor the account.  Sure enough, someone tried using it for two separate purchases totaling over $500 just a couple of days ago.  Luckily it was caught, but they canceled my card to safeguard against anything sliding through.  Because of the compromise and the fact that the holiday is next week it will be about 2 weeks before I receive my new card!

I have to say, I am extremely thankful the charges were noticed and stopped.  I’m even more thankful that there wasn’t an ax murdered in my house stalking me.  While I’m at it, I’m thankful the school is taking the precautions needed to protect our kids, even if they’ve known me for years.  Isn’t that what the neighbor of the bad guy always says, “we’ve know him for years, he seemed like a nice guy”…so that’s okay.  I’m glad they are following protocol.  I’m thankful for that day, more than a month ago, that I got to go on a little hike with my sister, niece, brother-in-law and mom at the cider mill while the colors were beautiful and the snow was still not a reality.  I close my eyes and take my mind back there, to the peace and quiet of the stream.  When I open my eyes back up I’m ready to continue my day.

Yep, it’s been a crazy day and all before noon.  But there is still so much to be thankful for in this world.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

