The Things We Wish Were True – book review

29632984[1]

The Things We Wish Were True 
by Marybeth Mayhew Whalen
Release Date:  September 1, 2016
Publisher:  Lake Union Publishing
Contemporary Fiction
Stand Alone Novel
Number of Pages:  290
Kindle Edition
Source:  Amazon Kindle First program
Rating:  R
Read 8/10/16 to 8/18/16

This book was the victim of circumstance when it came to me. Not only did I start it while the Olympics were one, but it was also days before my son left for the Army. So I’ve been a bit distracted. But I really enjoyed the story, the writing style, and the characters.

This book is written in alternating points of view. Usually written as third person, but one character is written as first person so it can take a minute to adjust. I actually ended up really enjoying the style. Each character in the neighborhood has a different tone, if not always a different voice.

There is a bit of a mystery in the story. Not so much a current mystery. But, like in any neighborhood where the parents and kids socialize a lot, there are a lot of secrets. Some bigger than others. There are things you will figure out pretty quickly, things you will think you know but you’re wrong, and a few surprises thrown in for good measure.

I really enjoy being a part of the Kindle First program because I have read books I may have otherwise overlooked. This is one of those books. I would have been intrigued by the synopsis and put it on my “want to read” shelf, but most likely wouldn’t have gotten around to actually reading the book. I’m so glad I did and I’m looking forward to reading more of this author’s books. If you have a Kindle and are not yet part of this great program I strongly suggest you check it out.  Some of the other titles I have received through being a part of this program are Star Sand by Roger Pulvers, Before Goodbye by Mimi Cross, Ghost Gifts by Laura Spinella, and many others.

4 stars

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

