Hope Smolders – book review

18923835[1]

Hope Smolders
by Jaci Burton
Release Date:  February 25, 2014
Publisher:  Jove
Contemporary Romance - M/F
Book #0.5 of the Hope series
Number of Pages:  134
Kindle Edition
Source:  borrowed from Midwest Collaborative for Library Services
Rating:  NC-17
Read 8/22/16

Very sweet back story on how Will and Jane, from the Hope series, got together. I’m always leery going into a .5 book of a series. Sometimes the author really has something to add to the overall series that doesn’t warrant a full length novel, but often it seems like filler that has nothing to do with the overall arc of the series or could have been easily added into the other books. In fact, some of this particular author’s .5 books in the Play by Play series were huge disappointments.

In this case, I was glad to get Will and Jane’s story. I loved them in Hope Flames and had wondered about their initial romance. Sure, it was even more insta-love than most. That’s to be expected in such a short story. Jane’s kids took to Will a little too easily…again, short story.

This doesn’t get 3 stars because it was in any way insufficient. It’s just because it wouldn’t necessarily work as a stand-alone type book. So if I wasn’t reading the series it wouldn’t really stick with me. Plus, I’m glad I read book #1 first.  As I said previously, I try to read most series in the order they were published, not the order by number.  They usually make more sense that way.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

