A Million Tiny Pieces – book review

24361023[1]

A Million Tiny Pieces
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  January 20, 2015
Publisher:  SL Independent Publishing, LLC
Erotic Romance - M/M/F
Stand Alone Book
Number of Pages:  550
Kindle Edition
Source:  purchased from Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 8/26/16 to 8/28/16

Before I get into my review of this book, a little back story.  I came across Nicole Edwards’ book Kaleb, which is book #1 in the Alluring Indulgence series, a while back and really liked the story.  I decided to read all of the AI books but soon realized it would be even better to also read her Club Destiny series because there are a lot of cross overs.  (You do not need to read one series to read the other, but if you’re going to read both you may as well do so in the crossover order.)  Nicole Edwards very quickly became my guilty pleasure author.  Her books are hot, sexy, and steamy.  But they’re also heart-warming, well thought out, and address major issues.  Once I realized I was going to want to read all of her books I just started reading them in the order they were published and that seems to work for me.  If you’d like to know what I thought of all her other books before this one, you can go to my Goodreads reviews.

Hoo boy, that was steamy. I’m not surprised since I know I can rely on Nicole Edwards for great sex scenes.  She really knows how to write a ménage scene very well. I’m not always on board with the threesome relationships though. (Or it may be that I just dislike Club Destiny’s Sam since out of all the “unconventional” relationships Ms. Edwards has written, Sam’s is the only one I don’t get.) This triad is written right, though. I like that, although there are feeling between all parties, the feeling between each couple are described differently.

There is a LOT of sex in this book. Not that I’m necessarily complaining, but there were a few times I wondered if the relationship(s) were spurred on more by lust than love. But in the end the love story won out and I believed in their feelings for each other.  I’ve read other reviews on this book where readers thought Tarik wasn’t really a part of the overall relationship the same way as Phoenix and Mia were.  I strongly disagree.  There is one moment, before the first triad date, that Phoenix annoyed me with telling Tarik to look things up to figure out where they should go.  On one hand, I understand that Tarik works for Phoenix.  On the other hand, I was afraid Phoenix wouldn’t remember to draw that line between work and personal and it could get ugly.  Well, it all worked out and that’s the only time I felt that Tarik wasn’t an “equal”, so to speak.  For me, the weakest link was the Phoenix/Mia relationship.  I can’t really pinpoint why, maybe I felt Mia trusted Tarik more?  I’m not sure.  But again, by the end I felt it was all pretty equal.

There was a bit of choppiness when it came to the final resolution. The big climax was a bit anti-climactic, really. There were a few players in the end that I was confused about how they came about cooperating, it was all rather vague. Not so much that it ruined the book for me, but still enough to mention here.

The other choppy bit had to do with a visit Mia’s ex made to her condo.  I honestly thought he and his supposed fiancée were up to something more than talk.  Nothing really came about from that scene and it left me a bit confused as to why it was included.

One thing I really don’t get that has more to do with the readers and those that leave reviews. These books have explanations and usually warnings about content. Why would someone pick up this story and then leave a bad review because they don’t like sex in books? It’s so silly and really unfair to the author when it comes to the ratings. To put it in perspective…my mom doesn’t watch or understand sports.  I could take her to game 7 of the Stanley Cup finals and the home team wins it in overtime and she’d say, “I didn’t really like that game.”  Of course not!  It’s not her thing.  If you don’t like M/M/F books or books with a lot of steamy sex, do not read this book! There are many steamy scenes, quite a few M/M/F scenes, and a even a couple of M/M scenes.  On the other hand, if you enjoy a good erotic romance, please check out Nicole Edwards.  You won’t be disappointed.

4 stars

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

