Discovering You – book review

272207121

Discovering You
by Brenda Novak
Release Date:  May 24, 2016
Publisher:  Mira
Contemporary Romance – M/F
Book #10 of the Whiskey Creek series
Number of Pages:  395
paperback copy
Source:  borrowed from Warren Public Library
Rating:  R
Read 9/6/16 to 9/7/16

I’m a big fan of the Whiskey Creek series. Even if they aren’t all 5-star winners, they are all enjoyable and fast reads. And none of them have been in the least bit bad.  I would put this one in the “winners” column for the series. This is a bit odd since we only see Cheyenne and Dylan from the core group. And Cheyenne is possibly my least favorite character by this point in the series. If you’ve read the other books you’ll know why, if you haven’t then I highly recommend that you do. But this book definitely reads as a standalone and I don’t think it’s necessary to have read the others to read and understand this one.

Although this is technically an India/Rod story, there’s a big portion that is also a Natasha/Mack story. I found their dilemma interesting so it didn’t bother me. In fact, I’m kind of hoping it was to set us up for either a Natasha/Mack full length story or a spin-off series where their story would be book one. Unfortunately, I can’t find any info showing any upcoming books for Whiskey Creek.

Above I stated that Cheyenne is my least favorite character of the core group in this series…but note that I said “at this time”. Back when Cheyenne had her story told (When Snow Falls) I loved her and her story. This book reminded me a lot of her romance with Dylan. Possibly because Rod is Dylan’s little brother and was practically raised by him. Whatever the reason, I fell in love with Rod almost immediately and was so glad that India was willing to let him in to at least some extent.

One of the things that has bothered me a bit in this series is the police force. Can we get rid of the jerky small-town cop that thinks he knows best and get some true blue good cops in this town please? It’s starting to get old.

Which reminds me to say that I also felt the problems Rod had in the beginning of the book didn’t really seem to be resolved very well at the end…almost like a rushed “oh yeah, we have to wrap that up!” type of bow put on that story. In fact, there was one point as I was holding the book and reading that I thought “how in the world is everything going to get wrapped up when there is so little left of this book?” So not just that story arc but even some of the others seemed a bit rushed there at the end.

Truly, if the ending of this book hadn’t felt so rushed it may have even gotten 5 stars from me.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

