Random Ramblings #1

Sometimes things just pop in my head that I want to get out.  Or I feel like telling you something.  So once in a while you will get a post like this one that is basically me just rambling about random things.  Most likely it will come at a time that I’m reading slowly or don’t have a lot of time to read so have no new reviews for you…like now.

We bought bikes this week!  The last bike I bought was back when Griffin was about 1 year old and he’s now 18.  It was an old lady style bike so I’d be comfortable riding with him on the back and really that’s all it was good for…strolling around town.  Not more than a mile or two.  My husband’s had to be ordered because they didn’t have it in stock but mine was assembled and picked up already.  Yay!

My husband and I are on an elimination diet because of some stomach issues we’ve had.  We have cut out gluten, eggs, sugar, soy, corn, dairy, and peanuts.  I read this book and tried to learn as much as possible over the summer.  Let me tell you, I am going through some major withdrawals!  I believe it’s more the sugar and carbs that is getting to me, but the withdrawals are supposed to only last a few days so fingers crossed!  I don’t want you to think it’s all bad though.  My stomach is definitely doing better already.  I’m just tired and have a headache.

I miss Griffin so much and can’t believe he’s only been gone a month.  I really didn’t expect it to seem so long.  I think it’s because we can’t really talk to him.  He called just before leaving reception to go to training, which was August 26.  We’ve gotten 2 letters.  Of course, his girlfriend Kirsten has received way more than that and keeps us updated.  As long as his platoon is behaving they should get their phones after the first “phase” is over and we’re estimating that will be this weekend so Kirsten is going to be glued to her phone!  His last letters to us he still hadn’t received any mail and she’s been sending him a letter every day and I’ve sent at least 5.  We know mail can be held up but it would be nice if we can tell him that there are letters on the way!

Josh is going to my mom’s to house-sit next week and will be there for about 3 weeks.  So we’re about to be empty-nesters for a while.  Now, my mom’s house is only about three miles away so I’m sure we’ll see him now and then.  But he won’t be here for me to give chores to, lol.

Did you know bacon has sugar in it?  At least the kind you can get at a local grocery store.  I’ll have to try a butcher.  I was hoping to let my husband have some bacon on a burger this weekend since he doesn’t get a bun but we can’t have the sugar.  Ugh!

My exercise classes at the community center were off the week after Labor Day.  It’s when they do maintenance and deep cleaning of the pool and gyms.  So getting back into the swing of things with Body Pump this week after more than a week has killed my legs.  In a good way.  But man, I am feeling the burn!

Did you watch Better Late Than Never with Henry Winkler, William Shatner, Terry Bradshaw, and George Foreman?  If you haven’t, do yourself a favor and find it on demand and watch it when you are feeling down.  So funny!  There were only like 5 episodes.  It really made us laugh a lot, which is a good thing.

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.  It’s raining this morning, but hopefully it will clear up so I can get on my bike for a bit outside!  I’m going to leave you with a picture from our travels this summer.

0718162044b

Griffin & Kirsten playing in Lake Michigan during sunset in July

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Ramblings #1

  1. Pingback: Random Ramblings #2 | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

