Crushing on Love – book review

295437131

Crushing on Love
Melissa Foster
Release Date:  September 21, 2016
Publisher:  World Literary Press
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #4 of the Bradens of Peaceful Harbor series and #35 of the Love in Bloom series
Number of Pages:  300
Kindle Edition
Source:  Pre-purchased through Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 9/21/16 to 9/23/16

This is one of those books where I was glad the hero and heroine, Steve and Shannon, already knew each other. Sometimes I don’t like getting a bunch of flash backs to explain a backstory, but that wasn’t the case here. They knew each other, but not for a long time. Enough to give them a basis so it was okay how quickly things escalated between them. I fell in love with both characters. They both seemed very loving of not just each other but everyone around them. Their concern for the town, the mountain, nature was all very endearing. I will say I was a bit concerned they weren’t getting their actual jobs done, but it all worked out in the end.

Shannon got a tad under my skin toward the end. I felt that she had a very big V8 moment (you know, hitting herself on the forehead with her palm) that I saw quite a bit before her. But since she did have that moment I’ll forgive her.

There were a few points that I found more risqué than Foster’s usual love/sex scenes and I felt it actually had to be given a XXX rating.  Trust me, if you love her other books you will love this one, don’t let that rating stop you.  It’s just a warning that there is a bit more description and daring in those scenes in this book.

As usual Melissa Foster pulls me into her story and holds me hostage, and I love it!

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

