Men of Courage I – book review

5115821

Men of Courage I
by Lori Foster, Donna Kauffman, Jill Shalvis
Release Date:  May 1, 2003
Publisher:  Harlequin
Contemporary Romance – M/F
Book #1 of the Men of Courage series (three short stories by three different authors)
Number of Pages:  379
Mass Market Paperback
Source: borrowed from Warren Public Library 
Rating:  R
Read 9/22/16 to 9/28/16

Three short stories by three wonderful writers. Sounds like a winner to me.

In the story Trapped! Lori Foster tells the tale of a hot fireman, Ethan, who is a bit relationship shy after being left at the altar when his fiancé took off with his best friend. Said best friend’s sister, Rosie, is in love with Ethan and always has been. She goes about finally trying to get him to see they are meant to be together.

Although the love seems a bit rushed, that is to be expected in such a short story. It helps that Rosie and Ethan have actually been friends their whole lives; it’s just trying to pull that “aha” moment out of Ethan that takes the time. This is my first time reading anything by Lori Foster and I have been curious for a while, just haven’t picked any of her stuff up yet. This convinced me that I have to start reading her library of work. 4 stars

Donna Kauffman is another new to me author. Her contribution, Buried!, was well written and made me want to check out more of her work. As with the first story in this compilation, the hero and heroine are already acquainted…although not to the same extent as the couple in the first story. Still, it helps with the pacing of the story that has to be told in such a short amount of time. The title, although not exactly true, is a much better fit than the first story’s title. 3.5 stars

Jill Shalvis’ story, Stranded!, is the only one in this book that the hero and heroine do not already know each other. Talk about insta-love! This one is FAST. But, although it’s one of this author’s earlier published stories, it works. After all, it is a Shalvis story. (Plus, the title actually fits the story pretty well in this one.) 3.5 stars

The ratings average out to 3.666 which means I will round up to 4 stars for my final rating.

(I didn’t read this book straight through. I took a break, reading other things between each story, so it didn’t really take 6 days to read. This is a super quick read great for reading on a plane or on the beach.)

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Men of Courage I – book review

  1. Pingback: Nobody But You – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

