White Heat – book review

5197031

White Heat
by Jill Shalvis
Release Date:  June 1, 2004
Publisher:  Onyx
Book #1 in the Firefighter series
Number of pages:  321
hard cover
Source: Warren Public Library
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: R
Read 10/1/16 to 10/3/16

Great backstory for our hero, Griffin. The heroine, Lyndie, is a very interesting woman. Tough as nails, speaks her mind, doesn’t back down, hiding a heart of gold. The majority of the story takes place in a the town of San Puebla where the food is excellent and everyone watches out for one another. So why only 3 stars? I don’t know.

You know I love Jill Shalvis, I haven’t made that a secret here.  But there was something missing in this story for me and, although I can pick out a thing or two, I don’t know exactly what it was.

I feel this story could have cut quite a bit out and been more of a novella or short story and may have worked better. It’s funny, the book covers about 2 or three weeks total. Yet I feel the payoff of the H/h flirting took way too long. I know that doesn’t make sense, yet that’s how I felt. I can only be told so many times that Griffin wasn’t ready to move on from his tragedy or that Lyndie didn’t form attachments before I no longer cared.

As much as I liked the characters of Brody and Nina, their story being told in this book bothered me. It didn’t add anything to this story and didn’t do their relationship justice. I would have preferred them getting their own book.  To be honest, I probably won’t read the next book in this series.  Not necessarily because I’m not interested, but because my library does not have that one.  Since the first in this series wasn’t great I don’t know how much I’ll put into looking for the next one.

I still love Jill Shalvis but this one just fell flat.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

