Random Ramblings #2

HAPPY WEEKEND!!!

Three weeks from today we’ll be seeing our youngest son for the first time since August 15!  He’ll get to leave base on Saturday and Sunday to visit with us, but he has to go back at night.  His girlfriend, Kirsten, will be going with us.  We’re all super excited!

I am in such a reading funk it’s unreal.  Here’s the problem; and please tell me if anyone else out there does this.  I got The Fireman by Joe Hill from my online library.  I started reading it a weeks ago and instantly knew it was going to suck me in.  In the meantime, I’ve had a lot going on and only had time to read a chapter or two at a time of any book.  Knowing The Fireman is a book I will lose myself to and could very well ignore all of my responsibilities all day or stay up all night reading, I kind of put it aside.  I was, at the time I started the book, reading a couple other books so I wanted to finish them before getting fully immersed in Joe Hill’s book.  Then my library loan was about to expire and I wasn’t sure if there would be another wait for the book so didn’t want to be in middle of it and have to wait two weeks to renew the thing.  Typing this all out it just sounds silly, an excellently thought out and written book is causing me to not read??? But somehow it has thrown me into a weird reading funk.  The good news is, the book renewed to me today.  The bad news, we have a busy weekend ahead of us so I may not get any reading time into my days.

That elimination diet I told you about…yeah, that didn’t last.  I ended up getting such bad withdrawals (I think from sugar and carbs) that my headache wouldn’t go away.  I couldn’t stay awake, was running into things, couldn’t concentrate.  By day 10 when the so-called withdrawals weren’t getting better and, in fact, were getting worse we called it quits.  Not to say we went crazy in our eating.  We actually took baby steps of putting the stuff back into our diet because we didn’t want to totally screw up our bodies.  We did learn a bit about paying more attention to what is in our food.  We’ve always been a white bread family and we’ve changed to multi-grain.  When we re-introduced milk I went with a lactose-free milk and found I like that and it seemed to help.  My husband is continuing with the protein shakes since it’s easy for him to take to work and sip on through the morning and he could use the extra fiber and protein anyway.

We’ve been loving our bikes!  My husband has taken his to work at least a few times a week, weather permitting.  Last weekend we went to Belle Isle Park and biked while exploring.  We went to the Conservatory, the Aquarium, biked off the paved road down a path to the lighthouse, went over to the Nature Center.  It was a beautiful fall day after a week of rain so we had a great time.  We’re hoping the weather will hold so we can hit the Detroit Riverwalk this weekend.

1002161047

The pond outside the Conservatory

1002161053

You can see the RenCen from the Conservatory lawn

1002161055

Exploring Belle Isle

My husband’s pant leg tucked into his sock in this picture makes me laugh.  Gotta keep your pants out of your bike chain!

So many new and returning shows on television right now.  I may have to do a post on some of my favorites.  <– Another reason for my reading funk?

I hope everyone is staying safe out there on the East Coast.  Hurricane Matthew is no joke! 

Everyone enjoy your weekend and let me know if you do anything fun or interesting.  I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Ramblings #2

  1. Pingback: The Fireman – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

