Necessary Evil – book review

285876111

Necessary Evil
by Jamie K. Schmidt
Release Date:  November 1, 2016
Publisher:  Loveswept
Book #1 in the Sentinels of Babylon series
Number of pages:  224
Kindle Edition
Source: Net Galley ARC
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 10/13/16 to 10/14/16

HO-LEE-COW!  That was so good!  I absolutely loved this book and read it pretty much straight through.   That’s not to say there weren’t a few little things that were off (I’m a stickler for timelines being correct and there was just one little thing that was off for me), but for the most part the story was just what I needed/wanted right now.

The heroine, Lucy, was so admirable.  Usually when a public defender is featured in this type of story they are portrayed as a bit slimy.  And there was a public defender in this story that fit the bill.  But Lucy was truly trying to help keep innocent people out of jail while making sure the police force did their jobs correctly so they could convict those that are truly guilty.  She took a lot of crap from the cops and prosecutors who were trying to put the bad guys behind bars, but she stuck to her principals.

Our hero, Evan aka Evil, saw too many bad guys go free when he was on the job as a police detective.  So he retired and decided to do something about those that got away.  While doing that, he could have gotten swept up in vigilante justice and gone rogue; yet he always seemed to have a level head and a good moral compass…even when it’s not convenient for him to do so.

The slow build smoldering fire between Lucy and Evan is off the charts!  I couldn’t decide if I wanted them to finally consummate their relationship or if I was enjoying the tease too much.  Happily, the actual joining of the two was just as hot as the flirting and dancing around each other was.  Once that Pandora’s Box was open they sure couldn’t put the lid back on.  It was great!

I haven’t really read a lot of motorcycle club books, and from what I gather this isn’t a typical MC story.  I mean, their “club” is really only 4 people from what I can gather.  But some of the language was startling for me.  I cuss like a sailor, so the swearing isn’t quite what I mean.  More the vernacular as it was jarring to me when Evil said Lucy was his “old lady”.  I know that’s silly for it to stick out to me, but I’m just not used to it and honestly don’t know if that would be accurate or a stereotype.  It didn’t bother me, just was something for me to get used to.

Jamie K. Schmidt is a new-to-me author.  I’m so excited to discover someone who has a bit of a library I can dive into.  I only hope I enjoy the rest of her books as much as I enjoyed this one.

***I received an ARC of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review**

4.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Necessary Evil – book review

  1. Pingback: Sentinel’s Kiss – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

