A SEAL’s Surrender – book review

51kdw4whel1

A SEAL’s Surrender
by Tawny Weber
Release Date:  March 1, 2013
Publisher:  Harlequin Blaze
Book #2 in the Uniformly Hot SEALs series
Number of pages:  224
Kindle Edition
Source: borrowed from MCL
Contemporary Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 10/18/16 to 10/19/16

I’m so happy that I can rate this book higher than the first book in this series. Since I loved the storyline in the first book it pained me that there were so many other problems. This one was definitely a step up. The editing is so much better, but still not great. It would have actually gotten one more star from me if there hadn’t been some glaring errors in that department. The use of the term “soldier” for a Navy SEAL was at a minimum. Decent storyline and great characters rounded it all out.

I’ll start with the storyline. Although, as I said above, it is decent, it wasn’t as good of a plotline as the first book. There were too many holes the past, which I find sometimes happens when a reader comes upon two characters who have known each other a long time. Things are alluded to that never get fleshed out that leave the reader wondering if they missed something. It wasn’t too terribly bad, but still an issue.

I really love the hero, Cade. He is such a great guy. By all rights he should be a stuck-up, pompous jerk. But he’s none of those things. He’s kind and caring and has a very strong moral compass. The same could be said for the heroine, Eden. She puts on a brave front but has such a soft center.

From both books I’ve read by this author so far, I’ve found she definitely likes to give strong hints on what the conflict is going to be early on. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, just an observation. But if you’re the type that would rather have lots of surprises as to why the H and h will have conflict, these may not satisfy your needs.

Since there seems to be a progression in the upward direction in these stories, I will be giving the next book a try.  Especially since I already have them from the online library.

3 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

