Trouble in Mudbug – October Book Club

96783001

Trouble in Mudbug
Jana Deleon
Publication Date:  January 27, 2009
Publisher:  Love Spell
Cozy Mystery M/F
Book #1 in the Ghost-in-Law series
Number of Pages:  300
Kindle Edition
Source:  Purchased through Amazon
Rating: NC-17
Read 10/10/16 to 10/12/16

It’s book club time again.  As I did last time, I will post my thoughts and then give you some feedback that the rest of my book club had on this month’s book.

Here’s my review:

Let me start by saying I really enjoyed the heroine and hero, Maryse and Luc. They were both thoughtful, caring, smart, and tough. I even liked the ghost, Helena once I got to know her. And although I’m giving this book 3 stars, which isn’t bad, I can’t say why it also isn’t great.

There is a small interest to read the next book in the series, but I can’t see myself going out of my way to do so. Honestly, since these books are not in the online library I use for my Kindle it probably will not happen.

The funny thing is I have nothing bad to say about the writing, writing style, story, or characters. This book just didn’t inspire loud feelings good or bad. It was cute and fun. The end.

3 stars

Most of the members of my book club felt the same way I did about this story.  Not bad, not great.  There is at least one member that is absolutely not a fan of romance novels so was very bored by the story.  Those of us who are big romance readers weren’t crazy about it since it was kind of on the tame side for romance.  I’m not sure if it’s a generational thing but the two oldest members of the club, one in her late 60s and one in her late 50s) liked it the most.  My mom, who is a very slow reader and often has a problem finishing our book club picks read this very quickly.

There is so much going on over the next couple of months so our next book club isn’t going to be until the end of January 2017!  January 29 to be exact.  When we go a long time between meetings the hostess will generally pick a longer book.  Tina will be emailing us soon to give us her pick since the books she had been thinking about were pretty short.  I’ll let you know when I know what our selection will be.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trouble in Mudbug – October Book Club

  1. Pingback: My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry – January Book Club | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

