Wait For Morning – book review

249824851

Wait For Morning
by Nicole Edwards
Release Date:  April 7, 2015
Publisher:  Nicole Edwards Limited
Book #1 of the Sniper 1 Security series
Number of pages:  454
Kindle Edition
Source: purchased from Amazon
Erotic Romance M/F
Rating: XXX
Read 11/2/16 to 11/4/16

While reading this book, I realized that Nicole Edwards has become one of my comfort authors.  I know she will always deliver an entertaining story, I enjoy her style of writing, and she leaves me happy at the end.  It has been a couple of months since I picked up one of her books and, now that I have, I wonder why the long break between.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

This story started out with a bang, literally.  The first chapter was heart pounding excitement and fun.  Actually, the first few chapters were fast and furious.  I will admit, once Marissa and Trace got back to Texas, the storyline slowed down a bit too much for my taste.  It is more than halfway through the book before the h and H give in to their feelings, which was not what I expected at all.  There was a lot of inner dialogue each of the main characters had with themselves about why they should or should not pursue the chemistry between them, but I would have liked a bit more of that push/pull between the two of them.  Of course once they gave in it was fireworks, as is expected with this author.  There was also a lot of secrets that the characters even admitted they shouldn’t necessarily be keeping.  In some ways this slowed the pace of the story down.  Again, once they hammered it all out the pace picked back up just like it did in the romance portion of the story.

At the beginning of this book there is a breakdown of the families involved in Sniper 1 Security…a family tree of sorts.  I wasn’t sure if this was going to be a good thing or a bad thing for me.  I’m the type of person who will constantly reference a map or family tree if it is provided for me in a book.  It can distract me.  That is totally my problem, I know that.  It turned out that I was glad to have it in the beginning, even if I referenced it too much.  But by about ¼ of the way through the book I was engrossed in the story so much I didn’t want or need it anymore.  In hindsight, I’m glad I had it to start.

There were so many stories to be had out of this book.  Each character has quite a few siblings.  Honestly, the most intriguing story I’d like to know at this point is that of the parents.  I’d really like more details on how the Casper/Liz Bryce/Emily pairings played out.  Plus, I feel there is maybe more to that story than we are told.  **wink, wink nudge, nudge**

The Hunter story bugged me a bit.  These families own and operate the most prestigious security firm in the world and they couldn’t find out the why of Hunter’s relationship?  I find that hard to believe.  Ms. Edwards usually comes through for me in explaining things once the characters get their turn, so I’ll just keep the faith that she will explain this someday.

I already have the first of the Southern Boy Mafia books on my Kindle and I’m looking forward to digging in soon.  No way I’m waiting another 2 months between this author’s books!

3.5 stars

 

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wait For Morning – book review

  1. Pingback: Naughty Holidays 2016 – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

