Soapbox Moment

2277408667_0d8db8f7761

I know we’re all tired of hearing about the election.  I think all would agree that this year’s election has been more in your face than years past.  I hate that I have the overwhelming feeling of “It’s finally almost over!”  But I do.

I have witnessed people I respect go at each others throats.  I have been called hateful names just for pointing out an article that quite a few friends were commenting on and spreading was a blatant fake; meant to be satire.  Educated women who are my mom’s age, who grew up during the Civil Rights movement, demeaning me and telling me to do my research and calling me stupid. The problem is, I had done the research when I saw the article and had FACTS before I very nicely (I was taught to respect my elders) pointed out the story was fake. 

I have been called un-American.  Are you kidding?  Practically every sibling I have (by birth and by marriage) either has military experience or works for the government.  My own son is in the Army and I don’t keep it a secret how proud I am of him.

6359650143979869742042904796_americanflag1

I know the media will twist facts to make the story sound better.  We are a nation that loves our click bait.  But it shocked me when I caught educated, professional, usually rational people I personally know lying to get their followers riled up and on their side.  I am not exaggerating.  It wasn’t a matter of not knowing the facts…they knew the facts and lied when someone (who was not challenging them but trying to educate himself) questioned them about key points.

What has happened to us?  I can only hope that when tomorrow dawns, whoever comes out the victor, we can go back to being friends.  That the hatred and vitriol and lies will not continue.  That the last  year has not irrevocably changed us for the worse.

We are a great nation and we have been made a laughing-stock in the global community.  That breaks my heart.  Let’s put this election behind us and start cleaning up our image.

wdf_11992921

Regardless of your views, please go out and vote.  Yes, there may be lines.  Yes, it’s going to take a chunk out of your day.  It may even be hard to find parking or transportation.  Carpool, walk, look into alternate means (I hear Uber and other companies are giving discounts and even free rides) in your area.  And please know, regardless of what the hours are at your polling location, as long as you’re in line by the close time you are allowed to vote.  Here in Michigan the polls are open already and will close at 8pm.  That means if you are in line by 8 o’clock and the line is 2 hours long they MUST stay open and allow you to vote.  Don’t know where your polling station is?  Click here, Google is ready to help.

Even if you cannot find it in you to choose between the two presidential candidates, remember your local ballot most likely has much more included.  I know in my area we had County Sheriff, State Supreme Court, local school board, and a mileage for a transit project among other things.  Don’t let the hatred and animosity of the presidential election keep you from voicing your opinions on things that are going on right in your own community.

Now go out there and let your voice be heard!

Full disclosure: We didn’t know when we would be gone for Griffin’s Family Weekend so we send away for absentee ballots which we completed and returned weeks ago.  So no,  I don’t have to stand in line.  On one hand I’m glad, but there will be something I miss by not going out there today.

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

