Nothing Like Love – book review

26870035

Nothing Like Love
by Abigail Strom
Release Date:  February 16, 2016
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #2 of the Love series
Number of Pages:  210
Kindle Edition
Source:  Kindle Lending Library
Rating:  NC-17
Read 11/23/16 to 11/24/16

As I mentioned when I reviewed Anything But Love, the books in this series can be read on their own.   Since I accidentally read book #3 before this one, I can say that with confidence.  In fact, this book and book #3 are pretty much happening at the same time so there is some crossover.  Yet in hindsight, I’d say to read them in the order the author has them listed for the best experience.

After reading Anything But Love and remembering how much I loved Abigail Strom’s writing, I immediately jumped on my Kindle to find this book.  I was so happy it was available for me right away.  But now I’m sad the series is over.  I’ll have to start another series by her soon!

I really enjoyed how outspoken and honest Simone is and the push and pull between her and Zach was fun.  Especially when they weren’t even technically dating yet all of the cast and crew could clearly see their feelings for each other.  And Zach wasn’t afraid to call Simone out on her stuff either, which was great.  I believe at one point the neighbor commented on how Zach isn’t afraid of Simone as most people are.

I love theater and Shakespeare so truly enjoyed the descriptions of the set and costumes.  The friendly quote competition between Simone and Zach was a riot and really made me itch to reread some of my old favorites. 

When the characters finally got down to not just speaking the truth to each other but also being real with themselves, I loved watching Simone’s awakening (so to speak).  She has always felt she has to be the strong one and the one in control; it was great to see her let someone do things for her.

As I’ve said before, I’ve loved everything I’ve read from this author.  I highly recommend her books.

4 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

