Random Ramblings #4

Once again I’m posting ramblings on a day I’m driving to Georgia.  This time for Griffin’s Turning Blue ceremony and graduation from AIT.  It’s a quick trip but still makes me glad Josh is able to be around so we don’t have to worry about the house or cat while we’re gone.

f861e32e6222a641d2e60ac0b86809b1

I’m sure I’m pretty tired since we plan on leaving at about 2 a.m.  Ugh!  But we’re driving straight through and do NOT want to be hitting Atlanta during rush hour.  Hopefully our plan works and we get there safely with the three drivers we have.

I have been so sick for weeks.  It’s really starting to put a crimp in my Christmas preparations.  I should have my tree and decorations up by now but I don’t have anything even out of the garage.  Plus, I should have at least some of my baking done.  Nope!  Still need to make a list and go shopping.  Ugh!  I’m so behind.

11af29ef121cd72d72e88b0b853e2937

I’m going to be saying this a lot after our trip.

About a week before Thanksgiving I had a pretty sore throat and felt a bit light-headed.  I lounged around the house and didn’t do much that day.  The next day I felt worse and had another day of doing nothing.  I had quite a few errands that needed to be done so I promised myself I’d go to the doctor to make sure it was viral and not bacterial.  On Friday I got up and felt a bit better.  I went out to run errands and realized I was more light-headed than I thought so didn’t get everything done.  I figured it was safer to stay home.  What do you know, the next day I couldn’t even get out of bed.  That’s when I realized I actually had the flu but it was too late to take Tamiflu.  I ended up in bed until Wednesday!  It was not good.  I stayed home from my aunt’s on Thanksgiving, not knowing if I was still contagious.  By the following Sunday I could actually get simple chores like dishes done without taking a bunch of breaks.  I’m definitely a million times better now, but still not at 100%.  The flu this year is no joke!  The thing is, I don’t even know where I got it from.  It must have been the community center because I don’t have a lot of interaction with others and it’s not like I have kids in school anymore.

ff31283ef46544b7aa1191520d65139a

Before I got sick, my husband and I spend another lovely day at the Detroit Riverwalk.  It was actually the weekend before the Christmas tree lighting so it was up and getting prepped.  I had never visited the tree downtown and I loved it!  I can’t wait to go back to see it lit up sometime soon.

1113161134

We also stopped in the lobby of the Renaissance Center and they had this GM truck on display.  It had artwork on all sides depicting our Armed Forces, past and present.  It was beautiful!

1113161100b

I hope you’re all doing way better than me in your holiday prep this year.  Remember, December starts tomorrow!

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Procrastinators Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Ramblings #4

  1. Pingback: Looking Back at 2016 | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

