Seaside Whispers – book review

30073195

Seaside Whispers
by Melissa Foster
Release Date:  November 30, 2016
Publisher: oddly, I couldn’t find the publisher of the Kindle edition
Contemporary Romance M/F
Book #8 of the Seaside Summers series
Book #31 of the Love in Bloom series
Number of Pages:  300
Kindle Edition
Source:  Pre-ordered through Amazon
Rating:  XXX
Read 11/30/16 to 12/2/16

This story is very sweet.  One of the things I like about Melissa Foster’s books is she doesn’t have her characters respond in an over the top way to little things like a lot of romance authors tend to do.  Yet in this story it was almost like there wasn’t enough conflict. 

Matt and Mira both had reservations, sure.  Matt thought he was just taking a break from teaching and would be leaving soon.  Mira has to worry about her son’s attachment to someone who wouldn’t be sticking around.  I love how Matt reassures Mira constantly and I do believe her reservations are valid as a mother.  It was pretty early on that it was obvious Matt was going to make the relationship work regardless of his career path.

The relationship between Matt and Mira’s son Hagen is probably my favorite part of this book.  I love a man who is good with kids!  Especially with kids who remind me of my oldest (who is now an adult) that to this day many don’t understand.  Matt gives Hagen confidence to be who he is and that’s a beautiful thing.  There was a bit that bugged me when Mira was afraid Hagen was being teased because he asked about being a nerd.  That upset me because she automatically assumed being called a nerd is a bad thing.  These days it is not the derogatory term it was in the 60’s.  There is a sweet wrap up to that later in the book that made me feel better about that whole bit of story.  That’s the thing with this author, she always seems to tie up her loose ends in a good way.

The ending was a bit rushed for me (honestly, this is where I thought we’d really see a bit more conflict and we didn’t) but I still liked the event that was portrayed at the end.  Although this story was not my favorite, it was still good.  Like I said…very sweet.  And the chemistry between Matt and Mira is off the charts hot.

3.5 stars

About Cheri

I'm the mom of two boys and wife to my high school sweetheart. Our oldest, Josh, is 23 and living at home while working. He just finished trade school for media arts and is looking for a job that will be a career so he can get out on his own. In the meantime he's got a steady job with benefits. Our youngest, Griffin, is 19 and in the Army. He just got married so I have also gained a daughter. Unfortunately, he is stationed in Washington so they're across the country from us. I was lucky enough to have the option of leaving the work force a few years ago. Since that time I've been slowly trying to get our house in order and catching up on a lot of reading.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seaside Whispers – book review

  1. Pingback: Bayside Desires – book review | All In Good Time

Leave a Reply

